GLENN E. BAILEY
W.M. in 1942
Secretary from 1945-1946


Glenn E. Bailey was born on August 1, 1903 in Cambria County, Pennsylvania, to Fred J. and Elizabeth (Jeffrey) Bailey. For the first half of his professional life, he was a high school teacher having moved to York County in the 1920s. In 1949 he founded and operated Bailey Travel Service in York at 123 E. Market street. This business would continue on after Brother Bailey's death and in October 2010 it merged with Travel Time in Lancaster County and the York branch is now located on North George street.

Brother Bailey was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on January 5, 1934 and was elected Worshipful Master of the same in 1942. He later served in the position of Secretary for two years, in 1945 and 1946. He was also active in the Tall Cedars of Lebanon, serving as Grand High Priest of York Forest No. 30 in 1973. He passed away in York County on July 25, 1982 and his remains interred in Mount Rose Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1910." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




ELWOOD G. BASTRESS
W.M. Of Lodge No. 451 in 1918
Warrant W.M. of Lodge No. 706 in 1920


Elwood G. Bastress was born on August 14, 1880 to parents William H. and Elizabeth Bastress. In 1904 he co-founded and managed The Golden Rule variety store on West Market street, York. By 1918 they had come to specialize in women's apparel and became the first exclusive women's specialty shop in York. Due to rapid growth, the store was moved to a larger space a few blocks east on Market street and had one of the first modern store fronts that would come to define downtown York shopping for the next several decades. In the early 1920s he also co-founded a grocery store in Carlisle, Cumberland County. After Brother Bastress and the other partner died, his widow and their son-in-law ran the business well into the 1940s.

Brother Bastress was made a Mason on October 7, 1909. After serving as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1918, he demitted in 1920 to become the Warrant Master of the newly constituted White Rose Lodge No. 706 in York. He was also a warrant member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, when it was founded in 1917.

He passed away in September of 1933 and was interred in the community mausoleum at Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: Peckham, Betty. The Story of a Dynamic Community, York, Pennsylvania. York Chamber of Commerce, 1946. Print.)



JOHN BAYMILLER
W.M. in 1886

John Baymiller was born on December 13, 1845 in York, the son of George and Christianna Baymiller. After his education he learned the carpenter's trade and engaged in that field throughout his professional life. He was the foreman at the planing mill of Herman Noss & Sons (those two sons being William S. and Harry P., both of whom served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 after Brother Baymiller) for twenty-seven years.

He was a Civil War veteran, serving for two years with the Pennsylvania Infantry. In 1889 he would serve as post commander of Sedgwick Post #37, Grand Army of the Republic - a fraternal organization composed of veterans of the Union Army, Navy, and Marines during the American Civil War.

He was made a Mason on May 11, 1874 in Zeredatha Lodge and was later elected Worshipful Master in 1886. Outside of the craft, he was a member of Mt. Zion Lodge No. 74, Independent Order of Odd Fellows in York.

Brother Baymiller passed away on December 31, 1912 at his home on South Beaver street and his remains interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Sources: "Obituary." The York Daily. 1 Jan. 1913
"York GAR Post Was Named for Slain U.S. General John Sedgwick." Cannonball Blog. Scott L. Mingus, Sr., 07 Aug. 2011. Web.)




CHARLES D. BECKER
W.M. in 1903

Charles D. Becker was born on May 25, 1867 in York to parents David and Mary Becker. After his education he got into the grocery business in which he would remain for his entire working life. He owned and operated a grocery store on the corner of East Prospect street and Vander avenue in York for more than thirty years.

Brother Becker was made a Mason on September 2, 1895 in Zeredatha Lodge and would subsequently be elected to the Oriental Chair in 1903. In addition to Craft Masonry, he was active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, of which he served as Most Excellent High Priest in 1908. He was also a member of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, and served as Eminent Commander in 1908 as well. He also joined York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons, a few months after it was reconstituted in 1920.

In the late 1930s he moved in with his daughter and son-in-law in York City before moving to the Masonic Home in Elizabethtown in 1940s. Brother Becker passed away at the Masonic Home on May 5, 1951 and his remains were interred back in York at Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1870." Index.
"United States Census, 1880." Index.
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1910." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




HAROLD E. BECKER
W.M. in 1972

Harold E. Becker was born in Dover Township, York County, on February 27, 1931 to parents Carl E. and Iva (Klinedinst) Becker. After his education he served in the U.S. Air Force in Japan during the Korean War. He was employed by the Pennsylvania Department of Commerce as an accountant. In the 1960s and 1970s he also worked part time as an investigator for the York County Bar Association.

Brother Becker was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry on February 17, 1965 and would subsequently be elected Worshipful Master in 1972. He was also active in York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon. He moved to Adams County in the late 1970s before moving to Mechanicsburg, Cumberland County, in the early 1990s. He passed away at his home in Mechanicsburg on February 25, 1995. Masonic funeral services took place at the viewing at Leber Funeral Home in York before interment in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: "Obituary." The Patriot-News [Harrisburg]. 27 Feb. 1995)



CHARLIE L. BERGER
W.M. in 1917

Charlie L. Berger was born on July 18, 1878 in York to German immigrant parents Adam and Maggie (Lease) Berger. After his education he was employed by several prominent York County businesses of the era including his position as a project estimator for S. Smith Co., a manufacturer of hydroelectric turbines and generators and the precursor to the present Voith Hydro. He was also employed as the sales manager for the York Milk Machinery Co. which produced milk bottle crates, bottle crate transfer trucks, and bottle washing and sterilizing machines. He was also a mechanical engineer with the American Chain & Cable Company. He was active in The Engineering Society of York, serving as one of the directors and as the secretary of that body.

He was made a Mason on October 4, 1906 and subsequently elected to serve as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1917. He was active in the York Rite of Masonry having been exalted [initiated] into Howell Chapter No. 199 and later becoming a warrant member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons.

Brother Berger passed away on November 16, 1961 and is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1880." Index.
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
"United States, World War One Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918." Index.)




CLAYTON E. BILHEIMER
W.M. in 1922

Clayton E. Bilheimer was born on August 27, 1887 in Bethlehem, Northampton County, Pennsylvania to Emerson E. and Clara M. Bilheimer. After education in the public schools he attended Lehigh University where he excelled in numerous sports. He later earned his Master's Degree in physical education from Columbia University.

He was hired as a coach for the boys basketball team at York Collegiate Institute in his wife's native county of York. He was very successful in leading the team to many winning seasons, and YCI's basketball team put York on the front pages of newspapers nationwide. Subsequently, he was employed as the first faculty director of athletics for Gettysburg College from 1927 to 1953. Gettysburg College was one of the first "small colleges" to field an athletic trainer, and Brother Bilheimer set many precedents for future directors at Gettysburg and for directors at small institutions around the country.

He was made a Mason on January 8, 1914 and was elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1922. He was also a warrant member and Past High Priest (1923) of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; a member of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; and a member of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. After retirement and his wife's passing, he lived in both Philadelphia and the State of New Hampshire with his daughter. He passed away on February 24, 1971 and is interred in Evergreen Cemetery in Gettysburg, Adams County.

(Sources: Hubley, Jim. "Historic Hoops at York College." York Daily Record 1 May 2008. Print.)
Relative - Carole Bilheimer Long - FindAGrave.com entry




JOHN BLACKFORD
W.M. in 1879

John Blackford was born in Washington County, Maryland in 1842. His education was acquired principally in the public schools and high school of Sheppardstown, Virginia. He subsequently became a student in the York County Academy and in 1868 he pursued a course of legal studies in York under the guidance of his uncle John J. Mayer and was admitted to the bar in 1870; he immediately engaged in active legal practice and won a high reputation. In 1873 he formed a law partnership with W.F. Bay Stewart (Worshipful Master in 1881) who studied law with Levi H. Maish (Worshipful Master in 1873); and in 1874 he won the Democratic nomination and was elected District Attorney for the county of York, he served a single term of three years at this position, displaying ability in the performance of his duties. During his professional career he was counsel for several large corporations including the Peach Bottom Railroad Company and the Hanover Junction, Hanover & Gettysburg Railroad Company.

He was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on November 8, 1875 and his petition signers were warrant members and fellow attorneys and members of The Irving Literary Association, George W. Heiges and Levi H. Maish. Brother Blackford was also affiliated with the York Rite of Masonry as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and he was knighted in York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. Brother Blackford passed away on August 22, 1884 and his remains interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: The Biographical Encyclopaedia of Pennsylvania of the Nineteenth Century. Philadelphia: Galaxy, 1874. pp. 616)



NEVIN J. BLUM
W.M. in 1950

Nevin J. Blum, the son of George B. and Anna (Fisher) Blum, was born on November 11, 1915 in York County. He retired from Bowen & McLaughlin York, a defense contractor, after many years of service. He was made a Mason on November 7, 1940 and duly elected Junior Warden of Lodge No. 451 in 1948, Senior Warden in 1949, and Worshipful Master in 1950. He was very active in the A.A.S.R.., Valley of Harrisburg, and received the Honorary 33° for his efforts. His father George was also a member of the fraternity.

He passed away on June 4, 1999 at Manor Care Health Services, Kingston Court, in Springettsbury Township, York County. Masonic services were conducted at Etzweiler Funeral Home, York, the evening before the memorial service. Brother Blum was cremated and his ashes interred in Kreutz Creek Cemetery, Hellam Township, York County.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 8 Jun. 1999)



EMORY W. BRANDT
W.M. in 1924
Secretary from 1935-1944


Emory W. Brandt was born on February 7, 1885 in Shrewsbury, York County, to Charles E. and Laura J. (Snyder) Brandt. He worked as a bookkeeper for the well known Schmidt & Ault Paper Company in York. After his retirement he moved west to the State of Arizona.

He was made a Mason on March 5, 1914 and was elected Junior Warden in 1922, Senior Warden in 1923, and Worshipful Master in 1924. He was also active in the York Rite of Freemasonry and served as Most Excellent High Priest of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; as Thrice Illustrious Master of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; and as Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. He was also a member of invitatory Masonic groups including Penn Priory No. 6, Knights of the York Cross of Honour; Erin Council No. 6, Knight Masons; Knights of the Red Cross of Constantine; the Royal Order of Scotland; and the Council of Anointed Kings of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. His son Charles E. Brandt was also a member of Lodge No. 451, having been initiated in 1929.

Outside of Masonry, he was a life member of the York County Historical Society and the York County Agricultural Society.

Brother Brandt passed away in Green Valley, Pima County, Arizona on September 2, 1971. His remains were returned to York where he is interred in Greenmount Cemetery and received graveside Masonic services.

(Sources: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 4 Sep. 1971
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Social Security Death Index." Index.
"United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942." Index.)




GUSTAV R. BROSTROM
W.M. in 1914

Gustav R. Brostrom was born on August 2, 1855 in Hogsjo, Sweden. After education in the high and technical schools of Eskilstuna, Sweden and graduating in 1875, he worked in the drawing room at Munktell's Machine Works until 1881. In 1881 he came to the United States and headed to Chicago, Illinois where he worked in a machine shop for several years. By 1883 he resided in Berks County, Pennsylvania and was a mechanical draftsman at the Philadelphia & Reading Coal & Iron Co. in Reading. From 1889 to 1898 he was the chief draftsman of the Frick Company (now Johnson Controls) in Waynesboro, Franklin County, Pennsylvania. In 1898 until his death, he resided in York and worked at York Manufacturing Co. as the chief mechanical engineer and draftsman.

He was made a Mason on September 5, 1900 and was elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1914. He was also active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and as a member of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar.

Brother Brostrom passed away at his home on Linden avenue on November 27, 1917. He is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "Obituary." The York Daily Record. 28 Nov. 1917
American Society of Refrigerating Engineers Journal Four (1918) pp. 442. Print.)




JOHN W. BUCKINGHAM
W.M. in 1874
Warrant Secretary, 1869-1871
Chaplain from at least 1882-1886 & 1893-1904


John W. Buckingham was born on May 6, 1832 in Gettysburg, Adams County, to Ezekiel and Maria (Test) Buckingham. Early in life he learned the tailoring trade, but in 1860 established his own business as a dealer in paper and paper stock. At the period of the American Civil War during the Emergency of 1862 when the Rebels threatened to invade Pennsylvania, local Home Guards were established to defend the small towns across the commonwealth. Brother Buckingham served in one of these companies under Captain Jacob Hay, Jr. (Worshipful Master in 1875) alongside Private Leander H. Myers (Warrant Senior Deacon and Worshipful Master in 1872).

Brother Buckingham was made a Mason in York Lodge No. 266 on November 6, 1860. In 1869 he resigned membership from that lodge to become the Warrant Secretary of Lodge No. 451, and in 1874 he was elected Worshipful Master of the same. He was a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons. He was knighted in York Commandery No. 21 and was later a warrant officer (Prelate) of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. Outside of Masonry, he was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. His son William would later serve as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1884.

He passed away in York on November 15, 1904. A special meeting was held at the Masonic Hall from which the members took a special trolley car together to attend the funeral, and then to Prospect Hill Cemetery where they acted as pallbearers and performed Masonic services graveside.

(Sources: "Obituary." The York Daily. 15 Nov. 1904
Gibson, John. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Part II. 1886. pp. 11.
Kain, George H., and Franklin M. Beecher. History of York Lodge No. 266, Free and Accepted Masons. 1932)




WILLIAM A. BUCKINGHAM
W.M. in 1884

William A. Buckingham was born on March 18, 1854 in York to parents John W. (Warrant Secretary and Worshipful Master in 1874) and Rebecca Buckingham. After his education, Brother Buckingham spent the majority of his professional career in the industry of cigar manufacture and sales.

Brother Buckingham was made a Mason on June 25, 1879 and was later elected Worshipful Master in 1884. In addition to his membership in craft Masonry, he was active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar.

In the late 1890s his business dealings led him to move south to Baltimore, Maryland. He passed away in Baltimore on September 19, 1929 and his remains were returned to York and interred in the community mausoleum at Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1880." Index.
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.)




PAUL C. CAMPBELL
W.M. in 1971

Paul C. Campbell was born on March 30, 1924 in Shermans Dale, Perry County, Pennsylvania to parents Lee P. and Ethel M. (Cameron) Campbell. He was educated in the public schools of Mifflin County, graduating from Yeagerstown High School in Derry Township. During World War II he served in the U.S. Army Air Forces in the European Theatre and during the Korean War he served in the Army National Guard.

Brother Campbell was employed for thirty-two years with York Bank and Trust. He served as branch manager for several different branches and retired as vice president of commercial banking.

He was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on September 19, 1962 and would subsequently serve as Worshipful Master in 1971. Toward the end of his year as Master he became the first to preside over a meeting at the new Masonic Center of York - the Third Temple. He was also a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; and York County Shrine Club.

Outside of Masonry, he was a member of Springettsbury Lions Club; American Legion, Pleasureville Post 799; and the Midnite Riders Motorcycle Club in Lewistown.

Brother Campbell passed away at his residence at Broadmore Senior Living in York on April 13, 2015. A Masonic funeral service was conducted at Advent Lutheran Church prior to the religious services and his remains were interred in Mt. Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church Cemetery in Springettsbury Township.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 15 Apr. 2015)



CHARLES C. COBLE
W.M. in 1920

Charles C. Coble was born on May 5, 1865 in Illinois to Pennsylvania natives Daniel and Julia Ann Coble. As an infant his father Daniel died as a result of an injury received from his service in the American Civil War. As a single mother, Julia continued to raise Charles and his sister in Illinois until the 1870s when she moved the family back to Pennsylvania. He was an electrician by profession and served on the board of directors and president of the York Telephone and Telegraph Company Relief and Beneficial Association. He was also an A.K.C. English Setter dog breeder for many years.

Brother Coble was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry on November 8, 1906 and subsequently elected Worshipful Master in 1920. He was active in the York Rite as a member of Royal Arch Masonry, Cryptic Masonry, and Knights Templar bodies. He passed away on March 26, 1927 and is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1870." Index.
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1910." Index.)




ROY C. DECKER
W.M. in 1931

Roy C. Decker was born in Ronks, Lancaster County in the year 1892 to parents Charles and Alice (McCue) Decker. After service in the Army Signal Corps during World War I, he married and moved to York County. He was employed as the foreman of the jet overhaul department at the Middletown Air Depot in Dauphin County.

Having been made a Mason on April 14, 1924, he was subsequently elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1931. He also was a member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, and Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. Outside of Masonry he was a member of the American Legion, Harrisburg Post 27; and Middletown Lodge No. 1092, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.

Brother Decker moved to Middletown, Dauphin County, in the 1940s and he passed away at his home there on December 23, 1958. His remains are interred in Greenwood Cemetery in Lancaster County.

(Source: "Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 26 Dec. 1958)



PAUL C. DETWILER
W.M. in 1965

Paul C. Detwiler was born on December 9, 1911 in York to Joseph S. and Annie M. (Brenner) Detwiler. He worked in manufacturing as a knitter for Triumph Hosiery Co. for over forty years. During World War II he served his country as a U.S. Merchant Marine.

He was made a Mason on September 21, 1955 and was later elected to serve as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1965. He was active in the York Rite bodies and served as Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. He also served as Past President of the Eminent Past Commanders and Line Officers Association - a Knights Templar invitational organization. He was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; the York County Shrine Club; and the White Rose Scottish Rite Club.

Outside of Masonry he was amember of the Dutch Club; the York County Firemen's Association; and an honorary member of Eagle Hose & Chemical Co. No. 7.

Brother Detwiler passed away at York Hospital on May 28, 1989 after a lengthy illness. Masonic services were conducted graveside at Greenmount Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "Obituary." The York Dispatch. 30 May 1989
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"Officers." PA EPC's-Line Association. Web)




PHILIP K. DEVERS
W.M. in 1900

Philip K. Devers was born on August 5, 1860 in York to parents James and Sophia Devers. He was a watchmaker and co-owner of a successful jewelry store in York. His firstborn son was Jacob Loucks Devers, the well-known Commanding General of the 6th Army Group in Europe during World War II. His second son, Frank W. Devers, was initiated into Lodge No. 451 in 1919.

He was made a Mason on September 7, 1891 and was elected Worshipful Master in the year 1900. He was also affiliated with the York Rite of Masonry and served as High Priest of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, in 1905; and as Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar, in 1901-1902. He played a large role in organizing the Conclave of the Grand Commandery of Pennsylvania in York in 1904. He passed away on January 2, 1930 and was buried in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: Markey, Michael A. Jake: The General from West York Avenue. Historical Society of York County, 1998. pp. 11.
"United States Census, 1880." Index.)




DALLAS L. DOWNING
W.M. in 1945

Dallas L. Downing was born on September 22, 1901 in St. Lawrence County, New York to parents Erwin E. and Maude Downing. He was raised by his maternal grandparents, Irish immigrants, John and Jane Miller in St. Lawrence County. After his education he started his own dental practice in the late 1920s which he operated until his retirement.

Having been initiated on March 4, 1937, Brother Downing was elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1945. He was also a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; and the York County Shrine Club. Outside of Masonry he was a memer of York Lodge No. 213, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and served as its Exalted Ruler in 1947. He was a Y.M.C.A. volunteer and was appointed by Y.M.C.A. president Peter A. Elsesser (W.M. in 1904) to the Medical Advisory Committee in 1939.

He passed away in York on March 10, 1967 and his remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
"United States Social Security Death Index." Index.)




JAMES M. EBBERT
W.M. in 1919

James M. Ebbert was born on October 15, 1872 in Franklin County, Pennsylvania to Jeremiah W. and Jane (Mechesney) Ebbert. He graduated from Shippensburg State Teachers College in 1895 and until his death served on the board of trustees of that institution. He then graduated from Dickinson Law School in 1903. Brother Ebbert was an educator, a lawyer, and the holder of numerous civic and fraternal posts. He was the first principal of Phineas Davis Junior High School, serving in that position from 1930 to 1940. He was also a former supervisor of the manual training department of the public schools in York County. He was a member of the Family Service Bureau and a member of the York County Bar Association. He served as president of the Farmers' Market Company (also known as the Market & Penn Street Farmers' Market) and was chairman of the York City Police Civil Service board for twenty-four years.

Brother Ebbert was initiated into Lodge No. 451 on May 6, 1909 and, in addition to being elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1919, he was also a Past High Priest (1921) of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; Eminent Past Commander (1926-27) of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; he was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; and a member of the Temple Club of York.

Outside of the craft, he was a member of Harmonia Lodge No. 853, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; a member of Mt. Vernon Encampment, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; and a member of Harka Tribe No. 51, Improved Order of Red Men. He was a member of Vigilant Fire Company No. 1; the York Y.M.C.A.; and Rotary Club International. He was a life member of the York County Agricultural Society and the York County Historical Society.

Brother Ebbert passed away on March 27, 1948 at his home on West King street in the City of York. His remains are interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: "James M. Ebbert Dies in 75th Year." The Gazette and Daily [York] 29 Mar. 1948. pp. 26. Print.)



PETER A. ELSESSER
W.M. in 1904
Warrant Member of Lodge No. 706


Peter A. Elsesser was born on April 14, 1867 near Hanover, York County to parents Lawrence G. and Anna (Zortman) Elsesser. He completed the curriculum of the public schools, studied at the Normal School in East Berlin, Adams County, and then attended the prestigious York County Academy. After his education he taught in the public schools of Adams County for a year before traveling through the west as a salesman for a shirt manufacturer for three years. Upon returning to York County, he taught in the public schools of Emigsville, York County, for two years.

In 1892, he became employed by Martin Carriage Works as a stenographer and two years later was made general manager. In 1900 he was also made secretary and in 1903 treasurer, in addition to all his other responsibilities. He would remain with this business for the rest of his professional career. By 1906, under his leadership, Martin Carriage Works was manufacturing pleasure carriages, buggies, mail wagons, surreys, and delivery wagons, and was the largest carriage manufacturer in the east. He also served as president of the York Safety Storage Company for many years.

Brother Elsesser was made a Mason on February 4, 1895. In addition to Lodge No. 451, he was a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; an Eminent Past Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; and Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg. In 1920, when White Rose Lodge No. 706 was constituted, he demitted from Lodge No. 451 to become a warrant member.

From 1902 until his death – a period of forty years - he was elected and served as the president of the Y.M.C.A. of York. He held membership in the Knights of Pythias lodge in York. He was one of the organizers of the Royal Fire Company No. 6, of which he was the first treasurer and trustee, holding those offices for many years.

Brother Elsesser passed away at his home at 529 Linden avenue, York, on June 16, 1941 and is interred in Greenmount Cemetery in York in full Knight Templar uniform. A graveside Masonic funeral service was conducted by the officers of White Rose Lodge No. 706, York.

(Sources: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 268-269
"Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 20 June 1941)




EDWIN C. EPLEY
W.M. in 1870
Warrant Senior Warden
Secretary from 1881-1891


Edwin C. Epley was born on November 24, 1819 in York County. Early in his career he was engaged in the manufacture of bricks for a number of years. During the American Civil War he was one of the members of the York Rifle Company, one of the best drilled companies in the country. Following the war he held a position in the Internal Revenue department during the administration of President Andrew Johnson. He was also elected and served two terms of three years as the Recorder of Deeds of York County, serving from 1845-1851. He then served for many years as court crier - a position responsible for opening the court, maintaining order, preparing necessary paperwork, and the like. After his terms of elected office he worked as a real estate agent in York County.

He was made a Mason in York Lodge No. 266 on April 7, 1868. He subsequently resigned to become the Warrant Senior Warden of Lodge No. 451 in 1869. Being elected Worshipful Master in 1870, he was the first Master to serve a full term of twelve months as the Warrant Master, Brother Josiah F. Rosenmiller, had only served the month of December 1869. In the York Rite he served as Most Excellent High Priest of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, in 1875; and in 1883-1884 he was Eminent Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar.

Brother Epley passed away on March 5, 1898 and was interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery with Masonic services taking place graveside.

(Sources: "Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 7 Mar. 1898
Gibson, John. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Part I. 1886
Kain, George H., and Franklin M. Beecher. History of York Lodge No. 266, Free and Accepted Masons. 1932
"United States Census, 1880." Index.)




HORACE C. EPLEY
W.M. in 1896

Horace C. Epley was born on December 29, 1859 to parents George W. and Anna M. Epley. Brother Epley spent his entire professional career in the carpentry industry, with a specialty in masonry - rough stone, brick, and cement work.

He was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on November 3, 1890 and would go on to be elected Worshipful Master in 1896. He would also become active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. His son H. Robert Epley (initiated 1921), grandson Horace R. Epley, Jr. (initiated 1962), and great-grandson Horace R. Epley, III (initiated 1965) were all members of Lodge No. 451 also.

Brother Epley died on March 13, 1930 and is interred in Greenmount Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "Horace Epley Given a Warning to Behave Himself." The York Daily. 14 Jan. 1902
Cress, Joseph D. Murder & Mayhem in York County. 2011. pp. 68-73. Print.)




HARRY L. FETROW
W.M. in 1934

Harry L. Fetrow was born on November 27, 1897 in York to parents Benjamin F.J. and Eda (Gladfelter) Fetrow. After his education he went to work in the machinist trade. After some time he was promoted to the position of foreman at York Ice Machinery Corporation (later York International, owned by Johnson Controls as of 2006). In the 1950s he took a job as the maintenance supervisor at New York Wire Cloth Co. from which he would later retire in 1962. During his time there he assisted with the well-known Christmas Eve factory whistle concert for many years throughout the 1950s and early 1960s.

Brother Fetrow was made a Mason on September 20, 1920 and subsequently elected Junior Warden in 1932, Senior Warden in 1933, and Worshipful Master in 1934. His son Benny L. Fetrow was initiated into Lodge No. 451 in 1950. Outside of Freemasonry he was a volunteer at Liberty Fire Company No. 1; a member of the Dutch Club, York; and a member of the Hawk Gunning Club, York.

He passed away on December 1, 1974 at York Hospital. Masonic services were conducted following the viewing at the Workinger-Semmel Funeral Home, York. His remains are interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States, World War One Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
"Annual Concert On Plant Whistle Scheduled Tonight." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 24 Dec. 1958
"Obituary." York Daily Record. 3 Dec. 1974)




SENFORD B. FOLCKOMER
W.M. in 1943

Senford B. Folckomer was born in York on August 22, 1908 to parents John H. and Eva V. (Luckman) Folckomer. After his education he went to work in retail sales in a clothing store and by the 1940s he was the manager of Gehly's Appliance store in downtown York. He moved to Baltimore, Mayland in 1951, continuing to work in retail in his new city until 1970 when he retired and moved to Broward County, Florida. When his wife passed away in 1972 he moved back to Baltimore to be close to his daughter and family.

Brother Folckomer was made a Mason on February 7, 1935 and was subsequently elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1943. He was also active in the York Rite, having served as High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, in 1944.

He passed away in Baltimore, Maryland, on November 26, 1989 and his remains were returned to York and interred in Mount Rose Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1910." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




ROBERT J. FREED
W.M. in 1973

Robert J. Freed was born in York in 1939 to parents Robert A. and Mary B. (Lucarelli) Freed. He was a graduate of York Catholic High School and Penn State University, and he served for four years in the U.S. Marine Corps.

Brother Freed was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry in Zeredatha Lodge on September 21, 1966 and would later be elected Worshipful Master in 1973. After moving out of York, he resigned his membership in Zeredatha Lodge in 2009 and affiliated with Franklin Lodge No. 12, A.F&A.M. in his new hometown of Georgetown, Delaware. His father, Robert A. Freed, was also a member of Zeredatha Lodge from 1945 until his death in 2004.

Outside of Masonry, he was a member of Cape Henlopen Lodge No. 2540, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, in Lewes; and the American Legion, Oak Orchard Riverdale Post 28, in Millsboro, Delaware.

He passed away at Beebe Hospital in Lewes on Saturday, April 29, 2017 and his remains interred in Delaware Veterans Memorial Cemetery in Millsboro.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 3 May 2017)



N. RICHARD GALLATIN, SR.
W.M. in 1960

Norman Richard Gallatin, Sr. was born on August 3, 1911 in York County to parents Norman R. and Lillie (Wisotzkey) Gallatin. After his education he was employed at the Met-Ed Co., where he served as district manager for forty-three years before retiring.

Brother Gallatin was made a Mason on April 3, 1946 and served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1960. In addition to craft Masonry, he was a member of York Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; York-Gethsemane Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar; 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; York County Shrine Club; Towson, Maryland Shrine Club; and served as Grand Tall Cedar in 1966 of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon.

Outside of Masonry, Brother Gallatin was active in numerous civic, social, and charitable organizations. He was a member of the Country Club of York; the Outdoor Country Club, the Hawk Gunning Club; Sons of the American Revolution; served as president of the York County Agricultural Society (York Fair) from 1979-1985; on the Board of Directors of York Hospital; Lions Club; and Rotary International.

He passed away on September 14, 1999 at York Hospital. Masonic Services were conducted the evening of the viewing at the Workinger-Semmel Funeral Home and his remains are interred in the Masonic section at Mount Rose Cemetery in York.

(Sources: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 17 Sep. 1999
"United States Social Security Death Index." Index.)




JAMES E. GEESEY, JR.
W.M. in 1990

James E. Geesey, Jr. was born on December 18, 1940 in Middletown, Dauphin County to Newton and Alice (Fredrick) Starlipper. As an infant he was adopted by James E. and Pearl Geesey. He was a 1958 graduate of Middletown High School, afterwards earning his Bachelor's Degree in Religion from Gettysburg College. Until his retirement in early 2003, he was employed as a Business Administrator at Lockheed Martin in Manassas, Virginia.

He was made a Mason on December 16, 1983 and was subsequently elected Worshipful Master in 1990. Brother Geesey passed away on August 3, 2003 at his home in Springettsbury Township, York County.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 5 Aug. 2003)



CHARLES H. GEISELMAN
W.M. in 1974

Charles H. Geiselman was born June 18, 1932 in Seven Valleys, York County, to Luther H. and Mabel (Kopp) Geiselman. He was a U.S. Army veteran serving with the Military Police in the Panama Canal Zone in the early 1950s. He was a graduate of the State Police Academy at Hershey and was subsequently employed as a police officer in West Manchester Township. From 1958 until his retirement in 1988, he was a York County Deputy Sheriff. From 1988 until his death, he was a truck driver with Fleming Companies, Inc., York Division.

Brother Geiselman was made a Mason on October 23, 1968. He was also a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; member of the White Rose Scottish Rite Club; member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; and a member of the York County Shrine Club. His distant cousin (3rd cousin, once removed), Samuel E. Geiselman, served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1951.

He was also a member of the Fraternal Order of Police, York County Lodge 73; a life member of Shiloh Fire Company; a member of the Viking Athletic Association; and a member of the Hawk Gunning Club.

Brother Geiselman passed away on January 24, 1995 at York Hospital. Masonic Services were held at the LeRoy R. Leber Funeral Home in Shiloh on the evening of the viewing. He was interred in Mount Prospect Cemetery in Seven Valleys, York County.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 26 Jan. 1995)



SAMUEL E. GElSELMAN
W.M. in 1951

Samuel E. Geiselman was born in Jacobus, York County, on September 16, 1914 to parents Phares and Emma Jane (Shue) Geiselman. In the 1940s, he worked at the Pfaltzgraff factory in the production of stoneware.

Brother Geiselman was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on January 9, 1941 and was elected Worshipful Master of the same in 1951. His 3rd cousin, once removed, Brother Charles H. Geiselman, served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1974.

In addition to his craft lodge, he was active in the appendant and concordant bodies of Freemasonry. He served as Most Excellent High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; Thrice Illustrious Master of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; and Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. In recognition of serving as the head of all four organizations, he was awarded the Knight of the York Cross of Honour in 1959.

Brother Geiselman passed away in York on February 19, 1989 and his remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: "United States Social Security Death Index." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




DALE K. GEMMILL
W.M. in 1962
Secretary from 1972-1998

Dale K. Gemmill was born in Red Lion, York County on January 1, 1922 to parents William H. and Cora (Shearer) Gemmill. He was educated in the public schools of Red Lion and graduated from Red Lion High School in 1939. He began his career as a journeyman carpenter and in 1952 he was elected secretary/business agent of the Carpenters Local Union. He was the first secretary of the merged York/Adams County Labor Council; was secretary of the PA State Council of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America; served on the PA State Carpenters Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee; and on the York Building and Construction Trades Council. In 1968, he resigned those positions to become executive director of the Keystone Building Contractors Association in Harrisburg.

He served as the employee trustee on the Harrisburg Building Trades, the Harrisburg and Williamsport Laborers Health & Welfare and Pension Trust Funds, the Harrisburg and Johnstown Cement Masons Health & Welfare and Pension Trust Funds, and the Schuylkill County Bricklayers Health & Welfare and Pension Trust Fund.

Civically, He was appointed by Governor Milton Shapp as the employer representative to the PA State Prevailing Wage Appeals Board, he was elected to a six year term on the York City Board of Education serving as both vice president and president, and he was elected to two four-year terms on the York City Council serving as president during the late 1960s. He also served as chairman in 1963-1964 on the York Chapter of the American Red Cross and as a member of the Board of Directors of the Penn-Laurel Chapter of the Girl Scouts of America. In 1955 he became a charter member of the YAC Federal Credit Union and served as the Treasurer for twenty-three years.

Masonically, he was initiated into Lodge No. 451 on January 20, 1954 and was elected Worshipful Master in 1962. In 1971 he was elected Secretary and served in that position for twenty-seven years at which point he became the Assistant Secretary, serving in that position for eleven years until 2010. He also served as the Scribe of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon, from 2008-2010. He was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg. He was a charter member and Secretary/Treasurer of the First Capital High Twelve Club No. 668. In 1988 he was elected the Secretary/Treasurer of the Masonic Center of York Board of Directors and he oversaw the Masonic Center of York Endowment Fund from its inception. He also served as a board member of the York Assembly No. 92, International Order of the Rainbow for Girls.

Brother Gemmill passed away on March 25, 2011 at his home in York. Masonic Services were conducted at the Heffner Funeral Home following the viewing. He was interred in Mount Rose Cemetery in York.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 2 Apr. 2011)



HAROLD M. GETTLE
W.M. in 1959

Harold M. Gettle was born in York on February 15, 1922 to parents James H. and Mae Elizabeth (Manning) Gettle. After graduating from William Penn High School in 1940, he served in the U.S. Army Military Police during World War II. After his military service abroad, he returned home and took up the electrician trade. Brother Gettle would later found Harold M. 'Red' Gettle, Inc. Electrical Contractors in 1954 and run this operation for over thirty years. It was later renamed, simply, Gettle, Inc. and it is now owned by Kinsley Construction.

Brother Gettle was made a Mason on December 21, 1949 and would subsequently serve as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1959. He was also a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; and the York County Shrine Club.

He passed away on July 29, 2000 at Colonial Manor Nursing and Rehabilitation Center in York. There was a Masonic funeral service at the Workinger-Semmel Funeral Home in York on the evening of the viewing, the day before religious services and interment in Susquehanna Memorial Gardens.

(Sources: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 1 Aug. 2000

"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




EDWARD A. GLATFELTER
W.M. in 1925

Dr. Edward A. Glatfelter was born in Jackson Township, York County, on September 13, 1890 to parents Willie J. and Susan (Hoke) Glatfelter. He graduated from Ursinus College in 1912 and did his graduate work at Pennsylvania State University. In his 45 years in the teaching profession, he served in numerous roles. He was the first principal of Hannah Penn Junior High School and he served as the principal of William Penn Senior High School from 1942 until his retirement in 1957. He remained a teacher and administrator in the York City School District throughout his entire professional career.

Brother Glatfelter was a made a Mason on May 4, 1915 in Lodge No. 451. In addition to craft Masonry, Brother Glatfelter was a member of Royal Arch Masonry, Cryptic Masonry, and Knights Templar bodies; 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; and a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon.

Outside of the craft, Brother Glatfelter was a veteran of World War I. He served for fifty-four years on the board of the Casper Glattfelder Association of America - a large genealogical organization; he also served on the Academy Board of York College of Pennsylvania for several years in the 1940s; he was the president of the Central Penn Scholastic Basketball and Football Leagues; a member of the Board of Directors of York Hospital; he served two terms on the York City Zoning Board of Adjustment; he was president of the State Teachers Retirement Board; in 1946 he was elected president of the statewide branch of the National Association of Secondary School Principals; and he was named by Governor James H. Duff in 1947 to represent the state secondary school principals on a nine-member administering board. As is obvious, Brother Glatfelter was extremely active in bettering education and civic involvement in York County and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Brother Glatfelter passed away on January 11, 1972 at York Hospital, where he had been taken earlier from Rest Haven Retirement Home in York. His remains are interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 12 Jan. 1972
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
"United States, World War One Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918." Index.)




ROY E. GRIFFITH
W.M. in 1936

Roy E. Griffith was born on July 12, 1891 in Everett, Bedford County, Pennsylvania to John C. and Emma L. Griffith. Early in life his parents moved the family east to Philadelphia. After his education, he began work in the trade of a boilermaker at Wm. Cramp & Sons. By 1920 he lived in Camden County, New Jersey and in the early 1920s he moved to York County where he worked for the York Rail Co., owned by the Pennsylvania Railroad.

Brother Griffith was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on May 19, 1924 and he was subsequently elected Worshipful Master in 1936. He was active in the York Rite and served as High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, in 1939 and later served as Secretary of that body for many years; he was the Thrice Illustrious Master of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons, in 1948; and he was a member of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar.

He passed away in York on January 27, 1967 and his remains are interred in Mount Rose Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
"United States, World War One Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918." Index
"United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942." Index.)




NELSON B. GROVE
W.M. in 1944

Nelson B. Grove was born on August 22, 1890 in York to Henry S. and Mary (Harmon) Grove. Having been intitiated on January 8, 1931, he went on to be elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1944. In addition to his craft lodge, he was also active in the York Rite and served as High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, in 1949. He was also a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon.

At the time of his death on January 11, 1954, he was employed at the H.L. Green Co. five and dime store warehouse. He died of a heart attack on Yale avenue while walking to work on Third avenue from his home on First avenue during a heavy snowstorm. Brother Grove's remains are interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: "Heart Attack Fatal to Nelson B. Grove." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 12 Jan. 1954)



HARRY W. HAMBERGER
W.M. in 1927

Harry W. Hamberger was born on September 11, 1880 in York to parents Samuel and Katharine (Bower) Hamberger. After his education he worked as a draftsman and later as a draftsman foreman for various industrial plants in York. He was also a teacher at the York Y.M.C.A. night school.

He was initiated on May 8, 1919, into Lodge No. 451. In addition to craft Masonry, he was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason in the Valley of Harrisburg. Brother Hamberger passed away on October 28, 1931 and is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "Obituary." Lebanon Daily News. 29 Oct. 1931
"United States Census, 1890." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.)




PHILLIP C. HAMME
W.M. in 1993

Phillip C. Hamme was born June 5, 1939 in York to parents Lester W. and Lavilla (Caldwell) Hamme. He served in the United States Navy from 1957 to 1959. Professionally, he retired from the United Defense Corporation after forty-one years of employment. Civically, he served six years on the West York Borough Council. He was made a Mason on September 21, 1983 and was elected Worshipful Master for the year of 1993. He passed away on August 27, 2005 at his home and is interred in Susquehanna Memorial Gardens.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 29 Aug. 2005)



JACOB HAY, JR.
W.M. in 1875

Dr. Jacob Hay, Jr. was born in York on August 3, 1833 to parents Jacob and Sarah (Beard) Hay. He received his early education at the York County Academy and began learning medicine in his father's office, subsequently entering the Medical Department of the University of Maryland. From the time of his graduation in 1854 until his death in 1897, he was in continuous medical practice in York County. He served as president of the York County Medical Society and as president of the York School Board, he also held membership in the State Medical Society and the National Medical Association.

During the American Civil War when the Rebels threatened to invade Pennsylvania, Home Guards were organized at York for the defense of the town. These companies were sworn into service on September 12, 1862 and continued to drill and practice until September 24. The danger of the enemy approaching York had been averted by the battle at Antietam. These companies, which were fully armed and equipped, were mustered out of service on September 24. Brother Hay served as the Captain of one of these companies.

He was made a Mason in York Lodge No. 266 on January 5, 1864. In April 1870, a few months after Zeredatha was constituted, he demitted from Lodge No. 266 and affiliated with Lodge No. 451. In addition to craft Masonry he was active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. At the stated meeting on November 4, 1878, a letter was read from Brother Hay resigning from Zeredatha Lodge with there being no explanation given as to the cause. Brother Hay passed away on October 18, 1897 and is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Sources: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 11
Kain, George H., and Franklin M. Beecher. History of York Lodge No. 266, Free and Accepted Masons. 1932)




GEORGE W. HEIGES
W.M. in 1871
Warrant Junior Warden


George W. Heiges was born in Dillsburg, York County, on May 18, 1842, the son of Jacob D. and Elizabeth (Mumper) Heiges. He attended the public schools in Dillsburg and attended Newville Academy. At the age of seventeen, he began teaching in the vicinity of his home and in 1861 located to York to accept a position under his brother Samuel, the superintendent of the York schools. From 1862 to 1865 he took charge of Cottage Hill College, then took up the study of law under D.J. Williams, Esq. After being admitted to the Bar in 1867, he opened an office and from that time until his death, practiced law extensively. He served in the Pennsylvania State House of Representatives in 1873-74. In 1885-86 he was elected the of Chief Burgess of the Borough of York (the last to hold that position) and assisted in making York a city; he then declined the nomination for Mayor of the same.

Brother Heiges was made a Mason in York Lodge No. 266 on September 1, 1863 before affiliating with Lodge No. 451. He was a Past High Priest of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and Eminent Past Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. Outside of Masonry he was a member of the I.O.O.F., the Artisans Order of Mutual Protection, The Royal Arcanum, The Irving Literary Association, the Pennsylvania German Society, the Pennsylvania Forestry Association, the York County Historical Society, The York Club, and numerous legal associations.

He died on December 3, 1900 at his residence at the northwest corner of West Market and North Beaver streets and his remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery with graveside Masonic services and Zeredatha member pallbearers.

(Sources: "Death of George W. Heiges." The York Daily. 4 Dec. 1900
Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 37.
Twenty-Fourth Annual Meeting of the American Bar Association Held at Denver, Colorado. 1901. pp. 651.
Kain, George H., and Franklin M. Beecher. History of York Lodge No. 266, Free and Accepted Masons. 1932)




JOHN C. HENSCHKE
W.M. in 1905

John C. Henschke was born in York on December 11, 1867. His parents, Johann and Anna Rosa Henschke, were German immigrants. He retired after many decades with the telephone company as an operator.

He was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on September 2, 1889. In addition to craft Masonry, he was a Past High Priest and the Warrant King of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; Eminent Past Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; and York County Shrine Club. Outside of Masonry he was a member of Humane Lodge No. 342, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the York Castle of the Ancient Order Knights of the Mystic Chain.

Brother Henschke passed away at his home on East Main street in Dallastown on November 16, 1947 and interment was made in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Sources: "John C. Henschke Dies at Dallastown." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 19 Nov. 1947)



RAYMOND E. HESS
W.M. in 1963

Raymond E. Hess was born on June 25, 1917 in Gap, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania to parents Ira D. and Cora A. (Ellis) Hess. As a child, his parents moved the family to York County. After his education he became employed at S. Morgan Smith Co. as a purchasing agent; he would work there for forty-two years before retiring.

He was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry on May 19, 1954 and later served Zeredatha Lodge as Worshipful Master in 1963. Brother Hess passed away at Colonial Manor Nursing Home on January 6, 2002 and his remains interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery, York.

(Source: "Obituary." The York Dispatch. 8 Jan. 2002)



MELVIN R. HOOVER, SR.
W.M. in 1952

Melvin R. Hoover was born on June 23, 1913 to Martin H. Duffy and Amelia P. Hoover. After his education and graduation from Hollidaysburg High School in Blair County, he served in the U.S. Army for six years and was a veteran of World War II.

He was the president and owner of Kerchner Welding Supplies, Inc. and he was a member of the American Welding Society. He was very active in the Masonic fraternity. In addition to Zeredatha Lodge, he was a degree master in the Valley of Harrisburg, A.A.S.R.; he was Senior Deputy Grand Tall Cedar of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon, at the time of his death; member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; and York County Shrine Club. His son Melvin R. Hoover, Jr., is also a member of Zeredatha Lodge.

Brother Hoover was attending a dinner/dance at the Zembo Shrine on September 9, 1972 when he suddenly collapsed. He was taken to Polyclinic Hospital in Harrisburg, where he was pronounced dead at 10:30p.m. His remains are interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery, York.

(Source: "Melvin R. Hoover dies in Harrisburg." York Daily Record. 11 Sep. 1972)



DAVID O. HULL
W.M. in 1949

David O. Hull was born in Carroll County, Maryland on October 24, 1900 to parents John W. and Nettie (Reid) Hull. In the late 1910s he moved to York County and by 1920 he was employed as a cigar maker. By the 1930s he was working as a salesman for a sporting goods store and by 1940 he was the manager of the successful Webb & Wolfe Sporting Goods store in the City of York.

Brother Hull was made a Mason on April 10, 1941 and later elected Junior Warden in 1947, Senior Warden in 1948, and Worshipful Master in 1949. Outside of Freemasonry, he was a member and board member of the York Exchange Club - a community service club.

He passed away in York on March 8, 1967 and his remains were interred in the Garden of Peace mausoleum at Mount Rose Cemetery.

(Sources:"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
"United States Social Security Death Index." Index.)




J. LEONARD KABLE
W.M. In 1889 & 1890
Treasurer from 1892-1894
Secretary from 1895-1901


John Leonard Kable was born on April 14, 1849 in Hesse-Darmstadt which at that time was an independent duchy, now part of present day Germany. His parents were J. Leonard and Eva (Olt) Kabel. As a child his family emigrated to America and arrived on April 27, 1855. He was an apprentice to Jacob Brown, from whom he learned the tailor's trade. He later was a successful merchant tailor with a shop on West Philadelphia street.

Brother Kable was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry on August 26, 1872. His years as Worshipful Master were unusual in that he served back-to-back terms, a rarity shared with his predecessor John B. Sprenkel, and not again encountered in Lodge No. 451 until the year 2012. This was due to a change from Grand Lodge that required a brother must serve as Master for two full years in order to be considered a member of Grand Lodge after his time in the east. This change was only in effect from 1887 to 1889; before and after that time period, only one full year in the east was/is the requirement.

He was also active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and he served as Eminent Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, in 1901-1902. His son, John L. Kable, Jr., was also a member of Lodge No. 451, having been initiated in 1898. Brother Kable died on June 25, 1919 and is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Sources: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 702.
"United States Census, 1870." Index.
"United States Census, 1900." Index.)




JOHN A. KATZ
W.M. in 1929

John A. Katz was born in New Jersey on February 16, 1888 to German immigrant parents Karl E. and Sophia M. Katz. By the year 1900, the family had moved to York and his father had founded the York Brewing Company. After completing his education and receiving a degree from the University of Pennsylvania, he spent a few years in Washington state. Upon returning to York, he began working for York Safe & Lock Company as an engineer and he held numerous patents for lock designs he created during 1910s. By 1920 he was a foreman and by 1930 the superintendent at York Safe & Lock.

Brother Katz affiliated with Lodge No. 451 on November 4, 1920, having made a Mason in Tacoma Lodge No. 22 in Tacoma, Washington (which still exists, now as Trivium Lodge No. 22). He would later serve as Worshipful Master in 1929. In addition to craft Masonry, he was active in the York Rite bodies: Royal Arch Masonry, Cryptic Masonry, and Knights Templar. He was also involved with the Masonic youth organization for young men, the Order of DeMolay, serving as an advisor for the local chapter.

He passed away on February 14, 1934 at the young age of forty-five. His remains are interred in the Katz family mausoleum at Greenmount Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.)




FLOYD M. KEEHN
W.M. in 1948

Floyd M. Keehn was born on November 17, 1909 in Reading, Berks County, to Morris S. and Gertrude (Knox) Keehn. After his childhood and education in Berks County, he took a position as a maintenance man at the American Telephone and Telegraph Company in Reading in 1928. In 1936 he was transferred from the Reading plant to the York plant, from which he would retire in December 1974 after 46 years and 9 months of service, having never missed a workday in nearly five decades.

Brother Keehn was made Mason in Lodge No. 451 on October 5, 1939. After serving as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1948, he served the lodge as Steward for many years beginning in the 1950s. He was active in the York Rite of Masonry as a member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons. He passed away in York on July 20, 1998.

(Source: "Yorker Never Missed Workday in 46 Years." York Daily Record. 3 Dec. 1974)



HARVEY C. KEHR
W.M. in 1966
Chaplain from 1971-1973


Harvey C. Kehr was born in Baltimore, Maryland on October 11, 1914 to parents Erney C. and Bertha (Shue) Kehr. At a young age his parents moved the family to York County, Pennsylvania. He graduated from William Penn Senior High School in 1933 and would spend the rest of his life in York. He served in the U.S. Navy during World War II and upon returning home began working for Associated Wholesalers Grocery Co. from which he retired in 1980 after forty-five years of service.

Brother Kehr was made a Mason on January 18, 1956 and served Zeredatha Lodge as Worshipful Master in 1966 and as Chaplain from 1971 to 1973. He was very active in the A.A.S.R., Valley of Harrisburg. He served as the Sovereign Prince of the Council of Princes of Jerusalem, 16°, and later received the distinction of being made an Honorary 33° in 1981. He was also active in the York Rite bodies as a member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; member of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; and he served as Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar, in 1973 as well as the longtime chairman of the Templar Eye Foundation (the Knights Templar primary charity). He served as Grand Tall Cedar of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon, in 1969; he was a member of York Conclave, Red Cross of Constantine; member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; past President of White Rose Scottish Rite Club; past President of First Capital High Twelve Club; and received the Grand Cross of Color from the International Order of Rainbow for Girls for his service to the Masonic youth group.

Outside of Freemasonry he was a member of the York Downtown Lions Club, and served as its president in 1964; he was the director of the York County Blind Center; and for last fifteen years of his life was an active volunteer for the Jerry Lewis Telethon. In 1990 he received the Legion of Honor Humanitarian Award from the Four Chaplains Memorial Foundation in Philadelphia a few weeks before his death.

Brother Kehr passed away at York Hospital on May 17, 1990. Masonic services were conducted at the viewing the evening before the religious services. His remains are interred in Lenhart-Gerber Cemetery in Dover Township, York County.

(Sources: "Obituary." York Sunday News. 20 May 1990)



CHARLES E. KING
W.M. in 1885

Charles E. King was born in 1857 in York to parents Daniel A. and Margaret King. After his education he worked as a clerk at the National House Hotel at the corner of East Market and North Beaver streets which was attached to the Masonic Hall in use at that time. In 1884 he was hired as a machinist for the Pennsylvania Railroad where he would work for the next forty years until retiring in 1924.

Brother King was initiated into Zeredatha Lodge on January 3, 1881. At the time, he was working at the hotel owned by Past Master Edwin T. Moul, who was the first line signer on his petition. He would go on to be elected Worshipful Master in 1885. In addition to craft Masonry he was a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; Mountain Council No. 9, Royal and Select Master Masons (Altoona); and York Commandery No. 21 before affiliating with Pilgrim Commandery No. 11, Knights Templar (Harrisburg). His younger brother Walter L. King was also a member of Lodge No. 451 (initiated in 1886) before moving to Philadelphia.

Outside of Masonry, he was a member of various P.R.R. assocations around Pennsylvania: The Pennsylvania Railroad Retired Men's Association No. 1, Philadelphia; No. 3, Harrisburg; and No. 5, Altoona.

He passed away on May 16, 1936 at his residence on North Sixth street in Harrisburg. His remains are interred in Mechanicsburg Cemetery in Mechanicsburg, Cumberland County.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1880." Index.
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1910." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 19 May 1936)




J. LEWIS KING
W.M. in 1898

John Lewis King was born in York on November 23, 1869 to parents John T. and Mary (Motter) King. After attending the public schools of York for nine years, he spent three years at Professor Grevner's school, completing his education at the age of seventeen. He then went into the establishment of Fry & Motter, where he learned the machinist's trade. His first regular position was with the S. Morgan Smith Co., at which he later attained the position of foreman.

Brother King was made a Mason on September 7, 1881 and in addition to being elected to serve as Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1898 he was also a Past High Priest (1909) and Chaplain of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; and an Eminent Past Commander (1902-03) of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar.

Outside of Masonry, Brother King was a member of the S.M. Smith Company Beneficial Association; a Past Councilor of Codorus Council No. 115, Junior Order of American Mechanics; a member of Crystal Lodge No. 342, Knights of Pythias; and a member of the Vigilant S.F.E. Company No.1, all of York. Brother John C. Motter (W.M. in 1932) is his first cousin, once removed, through the Motter family line.

He passed away on October 1, 1942 and is interred at Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Source: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 1024.)



JOHN F. KISSINGER
W.M. in 1901

John F. Kissinger was born on November 7, 1863 in the Borough of York to Benjamin and Caroline (Adams) Kissinger. He completed the curriculum of the public schools of York and early became active in his father's brick business, Benjamin Kissinger & Sons, of which he would take charge in 1887. He was also Vice President of the Monarch Silk Company and was largely instrumental in the founding of the Littlestown Silk Mill in Adams County. He was also a major stockholder of the Carlisle Avenue Market Company of York, and was prominent in local affairs. He was numbered among the reputable, progressive, and highly esteemed citizens and businessmen of York. His younger brother Stuart H. Kissinger was Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1909, and his sons Franklin B. Kissinger and Lewis E. Kissinger were initiated into Lodge No. 451 in 1921.

Masonically, he was initiated into Lodge No. 451 on November 7, 1892; he was a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; he was knighted in York Commandery before becoming a warrant member and later Treasurer and Eminent Commander (1910-11) of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; he was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; and a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg.

He died on August 7, 1955 and his remains are interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery, York.

(Source: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 480-481.)



STUART H. KISSINGER
W.M. in 1909

Stuart H. Kissinger was born in York on September 6, 1871 in York to parents Benjamin and Caroline (Adams) Kissinger. He was employed at his father's business Benjamin Kissinger & Sons. His older brother, John F. Kissinger, who was also a partner in the business, also served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1901. In 1919 he moved to Waynesboro, Franklin County, and was the attendance officer in the Waynesboro schools for eighteen years.

He was made a Mason on October 8, 1902 and later elected Worshipful Master in 1909. He was active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. He was also a member of Zembo Shrine in Harrisburg.

He passed away in Waynesboro on June 6, 1950 and his remains were returned to York and interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 480-481.
"Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 8 June 1950)




FRED R. KITZMILLER
W.M. in 1953

Fred R. Kitzmiller was born on October 31, 1908 in York to Charlie T. and Lucy (Huff) Kitzmiller. He was a 1926 graduate of William Penn High School. After forty years of employment, he retired from his position as a Budget Analyst with American Chain & Cable Company.

Brother Kitzmiller was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry on April 4, 1945. In addition to his service to Lodge No. 451 as Worshipful Master in 1953, he had numerous other Masonic affiliations. He was active in the Valley of Harrisburg, A.A.S.R., serving as the Most Wise Master of Harrisburg Chapter of Rose Croix, 18°, and he had local membership in the White Rose Scottish Rite Club. In 1971 he was recognized for his service by receiving the Honorary 33°. He was also a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; York County Shrine Club; York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; and the Royal Order of Scotland.

He passed away on November 9, 1992 at York Hospital. Masonic Services were conducted at the William J. Workinger Funeral Home the evening before religious services. He was interred in Stewartstown Cemetery in Stewartstown, York County.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 12 Nov. 1992)



CHARLES H. KLINE
W.M. in 1915

Charles H. Kline was born on November 29, 1871 to parents Charles W. and Chrissie (Baublitz) Kline. After his education, he began work as a telegraph operator and by the year 1900 he was a cigar merchant in York. By the 1920s he had become a merchant of the budding technology of his time: typewriters and adding machines.

Brother Kline was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry on May 2, 1897 and would later serve as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1915. He was very active in the Valley of Harrisburg, A.A.S.R., having served as the Thrice Potent Master (presiding officer) of the Lodge of Perfection, 14°, in 1905. He was also a member of various York Rite bodies, including Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. Outisde of Freemasonry, he was a member of York Lodge No. 213, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and in 1914-1915 he served as the State President of the Pennsylvania State Elks Association.

He passed away at York Hospital on April 17, 1925 and his remains were interred in Greenmount Cemetery, York.

(Sources: Certificate of Death: Charles H. Kline. Filed 20 Apr. 1925. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dept. of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics.
"United States Census, 1890." Index.
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
Pennsylvania State Elks Association. Web.)




CHARLES A. KLINEFELTER
W.M. in 1882
Warrant Treasurer, 1869-1871


Charles A. Klinefelter was born on October 14, 1831 in York to parents Adam and Sarah (Doudel) Klinefelter. After his education at the York County Academy, he apprenticed at the Weekly Gazette, learning the printing trade. He then worked at his father's hardware store in centre square where the Colonial Hotel and Rupp Building would later be built. He briefly moved to Springfield, Ohio to explore business prospects before moving back to York and forming his first business, a hardware store. He would later sell his share of the business to his partner and open his own hardware store on the corner of West Market and Newberry streets. He would also go on to form a business with Brother Albert Smyser (Worshipful Master in 1876) manufacturing sashes, doors, window frames, and selling lumber and other building materials.

He was made a Mason in York Lodge No. 266 on August 7, 1853. He subsequently resigned to become the Warrant Treasurer of Lodge No. 451. He would later be elected Worshipful Master in 1882, and throughout the early years of Lodge No. 451 he was one of the most active and vocal members. Brother Klinefelter was also involved in various York Rite bodies including Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons. He was knighted in York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, later resigning to become a warrant member of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75. His father, Adam Klinefelter, was an early York Freemason having been a member of St. John's Lodge No. 123. After the anti-Masonic movement ended, Adam became a warrant member of York Lodge No. 266 in 1852.

Brother Klinefelter died on June 27, 1901 at his home on the corner of West Market and Newberry streets after falling from a street car a few days earlier. He had a concussion and never recovered consciousness. His remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York with members of Lodge No. 451 acting as pallbearers.

(Sources: "Death of C.A. Klinefelter." The York Daily. 28 June 1901
Kain, George H., and Franklin M. Beecher. History of York Lodge No. 266, Free and Accepted Masons. 1932)




B. WALTER KOCH
W.M. in 1968

Benjamin Walter Koch was born on August 27, 1916 in York Haven, the son of Grover C. and Bessie (Hoover) Koch. He was a 1934 graduate of William Penn High School and attended Penn State University, York Campus. He retired from Metropolitan Edison Company in 1981 where he was the Superintendent of York Haven Hydroelectric Generation Station. After his retirement he served as President of the Met Ed Retirement Association.

Brother Koch was made a Mason on January 21, 1959. He subsequently became a member of York Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; past President of White Rose Scottish Rite Club; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; York County Shrine Club; York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; and Square Club of York No. 1052.

Outside of Freemasonry, he was a past president of the Susquehanna Lions Club (serving in 1974/1975), a member of the Hawk Gunning Club, the Viking Athletic Association, and East York AARP Chapter 1246.

Brother Koch passed away on September 13, 2003 at York Hospital. Masonic Services were conducted graveside at Manchester Union Cemetery.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 15 Sep. 2003)



PAUL E. KOHLER
W.M. in 1926

Paul E. Kohler was born on January 24, 1880 in Loganville, York County, to Jacob S. and Mary E. Kohler. Early in life he worked in several different industries. He was employed as a cigar maker, automobile salesman, coal dealer, and at the time of his death he was an auto accessories salesman for Harper Myers. He was best remembered as the Sheriff of York County from 1924 to 1928.

He was made a Mason on October 4, 1917 and was elected to serve as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1926. He was also active in the York Rite as a member of Royal Arch Masonry, Cryptic Masonry, and Knights Templar bodies.

Brother Kohler passed away on November 19, 1939 at his home on Eastern boulevard. Graveside Masonic services were conducted by the lodge and Past Masters of Zeredatha acted as pallbearers. His remains are interred at Salem Union Cemetery in Jacobus, York County.

(Sources: "Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 20 Nov. 1939
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States, World War One Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918." Index.)




A. HENRY LAFEAN
W.M. in 1902

Albert Henry Lafean was born in York on April 4, 1859 to parents Charles F. and Charlotte (Kottcamp) Lafean. His brothers, by blood, Daniel F. Lafean and Edward C. Lafean, both also served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451. He obtained his education in the public schools of York and in 1878 entered the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy. After three years at that institution, he graduated in the year 1881. That September he opened a drug store on the south side of West Market street in a building formerly owned by General Jacob Spangler. He built his business up and in 1885 he moved his store to 11 West Market street in the southwest corner of the square. In 1886 he took in, as partner, his brother Edward C. Lafean who had recently graduated from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy. This partnership established them as the firm of A.H. Lafean & Brother. To enlarge their business space, they again moved in November of 1886, occupying buildings No. 6 and 8 West Market street. After remodeling the building they did extensive business and became one of the best equipped drug stores in southern Pennsylvania.

Masonically, he was initiated on July 6, 1891. In addition to being a Past Master of Lodge No. 451, he served as High Priest of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, in 1904; and as Eminent Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, in 1906-1907. In 1896 he was invited into the Order of the Red Cross of Constantine. Outside of the craft, he was a member of the Royal Arcanum, Knights of Honor. He was also elected to serve on the common council representing the Fourth ward of York.

Brother Lafean passed away on December 17, 1928 in York and is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 34.)



DANIEL F. LAFEAN
W.M. in 1895

Daniel F. Lafean was born in York on February 7, 1861 to Charles F. and Charlotte (Kottcamp) Lafean. After obtaining his education in the public schools of York, he was hired as a clerk in the large confectionery owned by Peter C. Wiest of York. He quickly mastered the details of the candy business and in 1878 accepted an offer from his employer to become a partner in the business. The products of the P.C. Wiest Company found ready sale and it soon developed into one of the largest confectioners in the country. In 1895 he was elected the president and treasurer of the business. In 1898 they acquired the business and property of the Breisch-Hine Company of Philadelphia and a new corporation was formed with Lafean as president - the American Caramel Company. In 1900, the American Caramel Company acquired the business and property of the Lancaster Caramel Company - Milton S. Hershey's first successful candy company. With this acquisition the growing candy company became the manufacturer of over 90% of the caramel produced in the United States. It's also worth noting that his American Caramel Company would package baseball cards in with the candy to entice children to purchase their sweet treats. These early baseball cards are some of the most rare and valuable baseball cards sought by collectors today - especially 'Shoeless Joe' Jackson's Athletics 1908 rookie card. Lafean's friendship with Philadelphia Athletics Hall of Fame manager and owner Connie Mack allowed American Caramel special access to the A's players and gave them an advantage in the early days of baseball card and ephemera production.

Brother Lafean was simultaneously connected with various other manufacturing concerns in York County, including the York Silk Manufacturing Company, of which he was also president. This company had five plants in total: two in York and one each at Carlisle, Fleetwood, and Kutztown. He also served as a director of Gettysburg College and a trustee of the Gettysburg Seminary in Adams County.

Politically, he was elected as a Republican to the Fifty-eighth and its four succeeding United States Congresses, serving from 1903-1913. His election attempt was unsuccessful in 1912, but he was again elected to the Sixty-fourth Congress from 1915-1917. After his terms in Federal office, he was appointed Commissioner of Banking of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 1917 and engaged in his various manufacturing pursuits until his death.

He was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on January 6, 1890 and was later elected to serve as Worshipful Master in 1895. His brothers, by blood, A. Henry Lafean and Edward C. Lafean both served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 after he did. He was also affiliated with the York Rite of Freemasonry and served as High Priest (1896) of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and as Eminent Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, in 1896-1897. In the early 1900s he also held Grand Office positions in the Grand Commandery of Knights Templar of Pennsylvania as well as various Grand Committees.

Brother Lafean passed away on April 18, 1922 in Philadelphia and is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Source: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 32.)



EDWARD C. LAFEAN
W.M. in 1906

Edward C. Lafean was born in April of 1867 in York to parents Charles F. and Charlotte (Kottcamp) Lafean. His older brothers, by blood, Daniel F. Lafean and A. Henry Lafean both served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 before him. He followed after his older brother A. Henry, not only in the lodge, but also in his profession. He too earned his Ph.G degree in pharmaceuticals from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy. After his graduation in 1886, he joined his brother's business, changing the firm name to A.H. Lafean & Brother. This successful business moved several times to locations along West Market street, near the square and grew to become one of the best equipped drug stores in southern Pennsylvania.

Masonically, he was initiated on April 6, 1891 and subsequently elected Junior Warden in 1904, Senior Warden in 1905, and Worshipful Master in 1906. He was also affiliated with the York Rite of Masonry: he served as the High Priest (1911) of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; was a member of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; and he was knighted in York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, and he served as Eminent Commander in 1902-1903.

Shortly after his brother's death in 1928, he moved west to Pittsburgh where his daughter resided and he occupied himself in the industries of real estate and insurance. He retired there and lived with his daughter and son-in-law until his death on August 18, 1950. His remains were returned to York and interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II, 1907. pp. 32-34.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




WILLIAM F. LEHN
W.M. in 1935

William F. Lehn was born on August 5, 1901 in York to parents William H. and Fannie E. (Keesey) Lehn. After his education he worked in numerous factories including the Glenn Martin Corporation in Baltimore before enlisting in the U.S. Army to serve in World War II. He was released from the military a year later having reached the maximum age limit and then became employed at the York Oil Burner company.

Brother Lehn was made a Mason on October 8, 1925 and later served as Worshipful Master of Zeredatha Lodge in 1935. He was active in the York Rite as well serving as Most Excellent High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, in 1942. He also served as President of the Square Club of York No. 1052 in 1956. Outside of Freemasonry, he was a member of the Knights of Pythias. Both his father, William H. Lehn, and his younger brother, Louis A. Lehn, were also members of Zeredatha Lodge.

He passed away at his residence on South Beaver street on June 22, 1965 and Masonic services were held at the Strack and Strine Funeral Home at the viewing the evening before religious services. His remains are interred in Mount Rose Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "Obituary." The York Dispatch. 25 Jun. 1965
"United States Census, 1910." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942." Index.)




HOWARD W. LEHR
W.M. in 1916

Howard W. Lehr was born on February 7, 1883 in Dover, York County, and he was a graduate of York Collegiete Institute - the precursor to York College. Early in life he was a school teacher, but after his service in the United States Army Infantry during World War I he decided to make his career in the military. Lieutenant Lehr was stationed in China and India for three years in the early 1920s and was the editor of the military newspaper publication The Sentinel. He was then promoted to 1st Lieutenant and stationed at Fort Benning, Georgia back in the United States. After being promoted to Major, he was a professor of Military Science and Tactics at Knox College in Galesburg, Illinois in the 1930s.

He was made a Mason on January 9, 1908 and was subsequently elected Worshipful Master in 1916. He was also active in the York Rite and was a warrant member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons. Outside the craft he was a member of Mt. Zion Lodge No. 74, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in York and served as Noble Grand (presiding officer) of that body.

He passed away on June 18, 1940 in Cook County, Illinois and is interred in Arlington National Cemetery.

(Sources: "Transfer York Infantry Officer." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 24 Feb. 1939
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
Cornebise, Alfred E. The United States 15th Infantry Regiment in China, 1912-1938. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2004. 96. Print.)




MELCHINGER O. LEWIS
W.M. in 1897
Warrant Member of Lodge No. 706


Melchinger O. Lewis was born on July 14, 1868 in Dover, York County. His parents were Melchinger R. and Justina (Maul) Lewis. After receiving his education in the public schools of York City, he apprenticed himself under Hantz & Jessop to learn the trade of plumbing and steamfitting. After his apprenticeship, he engaged in a business partnership with H.H. Haker in 1890, doing business under the name Haker & Lewis. After Mr. Haker withdrew, Brother Lewis continued alone until 1898 when he closed out to accept a position as foreman of the sheet metal department of the York Manufacturing Company. After a year he was promoted to the position of Assistant Superintendent until 1906 when he again went into business for himself. He employed several workmen and his business was a model up-to-date plant for the era.

Brother Lewis was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on September 7, 1891 and was elected Worshipful Master in 1897. In addition to craft Masonry, he was a warrant member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; a warrant member and later Eminent Commander (1912-13) of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; and a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg. Brother Lewis resigned from Lodge No. 451 on March 19, 1919 to become a warrant member of White Rose Lodge No. 706 in York. His son, Melchinger J. Lewis, was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 in 1915 and his father, Melchinger R. Lewis, was made a Mason in York Lodge No. 266 in 1868. His older brother Robert J. Lewis was a U.S. Congressman at the turn of the 20th century and a member of York Lodge No. 266; and his younger brother Samuel S. Lewis was Lt. Governor of Pennsylvania from 1939-1943, has a state park in York County named after him, and was a member of York Lodge No. 266.

Outside of Masonry, he was a member of Humane Lodge No. 342, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; a charter member of Linden Camp No. 5375, Modern Woodmen of America; active member of Vigilant Fire Company No.1, York; and served on the York City School Board for many years.

He passed away at his home on Roosevelt avenue in York on February 15, 1948 and his cremated remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "Melchinger Lewis, Ex-School Official, Dies After Illness." The Gazette and Daily.[York] 16 Feb. 1948
Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 58.)




LEVI H. MAISH
W.M. in 1873
Warrant Junior Deacon


Levi H. Maish was born in Conewago Township, York County, on November 22, 1837 to parents David and Salome (Neiman) Maish. He attended the common schools and the York County Academy, after which he taught school in Manchester Township and in the Borough of York. In 1861, he took up the study of law under D.J. Williams, Esq. He raised and organized a company of volunteers from among the young men of his town and vicinity which, with other companies from York, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Montgomery, and Chester counties, formed the famous One Hundred and Thirtieth Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. He was at first the Captain of Company K from York, but during the organization of the battalion he was elected lieutenant colonel (second in command) and on August 17, 1862 went with his regiment to Washington and was stationed in the defense of the capitol. The colonel of the regiment (Henry I. Zinn) was killed at Fredericksburg and, although he had been shot in the right lung at Antietam and in the hip at Chancellorsville, Maish, being the highest ranking officer was promoted to colonel before being mustered out of service at Harrisburg in 1863. This regiment fought some of the most pivotal battles of the American Civil War including "Bloody Lane" at the Battle of Antietam, "Marye's Heights" at the Battle of Fredericksburg, and against Lt. General Thomas 'Stonewall' Jackson's Second Corps at the Battle of Chancellorsville (where Jackson would be shot, forcing his arm amputation, ultimately resulting in his death ten days later).

After Brother Maish's service in the American Civil War, he was admitted to the Bar in 1864 and in 1867-68 he was elected to the Pennsylvania State House of Representatives. In 1873 he formed a law partnership with Brother W.F. Bay Stewart (W.M. in 1881) and Brother John Blackford (W.M. in 1879). In 1874 he was elected as a Democrat to the U.S. House of Representatives and would serve in the Forty-forth, Forty-fifth, Fiftieth, and Fifty-first Congresses. In 1890 he returned to the practice of law in York and later in Washington, D.C.

He was made a Mason in York Lodge No. 266 on January 6, 1863 before resigning to become a warrant member of Lodge No. 451 in 1869. In addition to craft Masonry he was a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. He later demitted from Lodge No. 451 on February 2, 1891, presumably to affiliate with a lodge in the District of Columbia.

He died in Washington, D.C. in 1899. His remains were interred in Oak Hill Cemetery in D.C., but later moved to Arlington National Cemetery in 1919.

(Source: Gibson, John. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Part II. 1886. pp. 33.
Kain, George H., and Franklin M. Beecher. History of York Lodge No. 266, Free and Accepted Masons. 1932
Beltz, Terrence W., "The history of the one hundred and thirtieth regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry." 2004)




JAMES R. MARKLE, SR.
W.M. in 1979

James R. Markle, Sr. was born on August 22, 1930 in York to David A. and Dorothy (DeGroft) Markle. He was a 1948 graduate of William Penn High School and served in the U.S. Navy at the Naval Air Training Center in Tennessee. After twenty-one years he retired from the Pennsylvania State Treasury where he had been a bureau director. Prior to that position he worked in the insurance industry. Following his retirement, he continued to do financial planning, had an extensive tax practice, and launched a successful business called Poetic Portraits.

Masonically, he was affiliated with many bodies, having been made a Mason on December 20, 1972. He was a Past High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; Past Thrice Illustrious Master of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; member of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; he served as District Deputy Grand High Priest of the 4th District of the Pennsylvania Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons in the 1980s; member of Erin Council No. 6, Knight Masons; member of Council of Anointed Kings of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania; 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; he was a charter member of the White Rose Scottish Rite Club; a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; and a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon.

Brother Markle passed away at the Masonic Village in Elizabethtown, Lancaster County, on November 28, 2006. Masonic Services were held at the Workinger-Semmel Funeral Home in York and were followed by a funeral service officiated by Brother Junior L. Aughenbaugh, Chaplain of Lodge No. 451. His remains are interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery, York.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 1 Dec. 2006)



WILLIAM H. MARKS
W.M. in 1892

William H. Marks was born on September 6, 1860 in York County to parents Gabel and Jane (Schmuck) Marks. He was a clothing store merchant and co-owned no less than two stores – one in York and the other in Carlisle.

He was made a Mason on October 4, 1886. In addition to craft Masonry, he was active in the York Rite of Masonry and was affiliated with Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and he served as Eminent Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, in 1895-1896.

Brother Marks passed away on July 4, 1927 and he is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: "United States Census, 1900." Index.)



ALVIN L. MEISENHELTER
W.M. in 1985 & 1997

Alvin L. Meisenhelter was born in York on June 12, 1914 to Charles and Thirza (Ebersole) Meisenhelter. He retired in 1975 after thirty-five years as a passenger agent for Penn Central Railroad and, later, ConRail. For twenty-eight years he was a local business agent for the Brotherhood of Railroad and Airline Clerks (now the Transportation Clerks Union, or T.C.U.).

Brother Meisenhelter was made a Mason on September 20, 1978 and in addition to his two terms as Master of Lodge No. 451, he was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg, and a member of the Square Club of York No. 1052. Outside of Freemasonry he served on the Board of Directors for the Northeastern Senior Center and was a member of the Hawk Gunning Club in Pleasureville.

He departed this life on February 6, 2008 at his home at the Masonic Village in Elizabethtown, Lancaster County, where he had resided for several years. Masonic services were conducted at Pleasureville United Methodist Church before religious funeral services.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 7 Feb. 2008)



DALE J. MILLER
W.M. in 1981

Dale J. Miller was born in York on October 27, 1932 to Robert and Amelia (Wire) Miller. After graduating from William Penn High School in 1950, he was an electrician with the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local #229 in York for forty-three years. After his retirement from the electrical field, he worked part time as a driver for Brockie Pharmacy.

Brother Miller was initiated on September 29, 1973. In addition to craft Masonry, he was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; York County Shrine Club; Square Club of York No. 1052; he served as Grand Tall Cedar of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon, and was also a member of that body's clown unit. He was also active in the York Rite and served as High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, in 1979; and as Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar, in 1980-81.

He was a U.S. Navy veteran of the Korean War and subsequently was a member of the American Legion, Shiloh Post 791. He also was active in the Boy Scouts of America, serving as Scout Master for Troop #63 at Bethany United Methodist Church, York.

He passed away on May 19, 2007 and Masonic services were held the evening of the viewing at Workinger-Semmel Funeral Home. His remains are interred in Greenmount Cemetery, York.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 22 Mar. 2007)



JAMES Y. MILLER
W.M. in 1911

James Y. Miller was born on August 27, 1878 to parents James D. and Sarah (Stahler) Miller in Marysville, Perry County, Pennsylvania. Shortly after his education was completed, he became employed by the Pennsylvania Railroad in York County as a clerk. A few years later he would be promoted to tallyman at the York Sheds, a position he would hold until 1916 when he was again promoted by the P.R.R. to the chairman of loss and damage at the Baltimore division, and in the 1930s he would become the freight manager and spend the rest of his career in that role having spent his entire professional life working for the P.R.R.

Brother Miller was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on October 13, 1903 and would go on to be elected Worshipful Master of the same in 1911. He was also active in the York Rite of Freemasonry as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. He passed away in York on May 19, 1968 and his remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1910." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
"P.R.R. Promotes Yorker." The York Daily. 22 Dec. 1916)




ARTHUR S. MORNINGSTAR
W.M. in 1954

Arthur S. Morningstar was born on June 24, 1906 in York to Elmer M. and Alma E. (Ober) Morningstar. After his education, he began working in sales for a retail hardware store in York and by 1942 he was the store manager. He enlisted in 1943 and served in the U.S. Army Infantry during World War II.

Brother Morningstar was initiated into Lodge No. 451 on March 20, 1948 and was subsequently elected Worshipful Master in 1954. He passed away at his home on Main street in Jacobus, York County, on August 11, 1978 and his remains interred in Mount Rose Cemetery, York.

(Source: "United States Social Security Death Index." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




JOHN M. MORRIS
W.M. in 1933
Secretary from 1947-1950


John M. Morris was born on July 1, 1893 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to parents Charles H. and Annie L. (Murray) Morris. After his education he began work as a clerk in a general store in Philadelphia before moving to York in the early 1920s. He would later co-own Excel Wholesale Lumber and he was the owner/operator of Runkle Furniture company.

Brother Morris was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on June 10, 1926 and was later elected Worshipful Master in 1933. From 1947 to 1950 he served as Secretary of the lodge. He was a member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, and a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon. He was also a recipient of the Order of DeMolay Cross of Honor for his endeavors as one of the founders of the York Chapter of that youth organization.

Outside of Freemasonry he was active in the York County Tuberculosis and Health Society and was a member of the former Spring Garden Township School Board.

Brother Morris passed away in York on August 24, 1970 at the Barley Convalescent home in York and his remains interred in Mount Rose Cemetery.
(Sources: "United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
"Obituary." The Gazette and Daily. [York] 25 Aug. 1970)




JOHN C. MOTTER
W.M. in 1932

John C. Motter was born in York County on January 10, 1893 to Robert L. and Sadie (Laucks) Motter. After his education he was employed in the family business started by his grandfather. George F. Motter and Sons produced boilers, radiators, and by the 1920s, printing presses. By 1940 he held the position of Vice President of the prestigious company.

In 1953 he left and, with his sons John Jr. and Frank (also a member of Lodge No. 451), founded the John C. Motter Printing Press Company. This firm produced superior quality printing presses that newspaper and magazine companies around the world purchased. It was said that competing manufacturers talked about allowable tolerances, but Brother Motter insisted on being right on the mark with precision. In 1991 the company was bought out by Koenig and Bauer and became known as KBA-Motter. In 2007, KBA North America would close the plant. The building at 217 West Princess street would later become the Agricultural & Industrial Museum, maintained by the York County History Center.

As a member of Lodge No. 451, he was initiated on April 8, 1926, elected Junior Warden in 1930, Senior Warden in 1931, and Worshipful Master in 1932. Brother J. Lewis King (W.M. in 1898) is his first cousin, once removed, through the Motter family line.

Brother Motter passed away in York on November 4, 1989 and is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 82-84.
Trust Talk York County Heritage Trust. Spring 2010)




EDWIN T. MOUL
W.M. in 1880

Edwin T. Moul was born in 1849 in Moulstown, York County, Pennsylvania to parents Charles and Susanna (Stambaugh) Moul. Early in life he was educated at the York County Academy and then Gettysburg College. He apprenticed and learned the shoemaker's trade before working at his father's liquor store business. He was one of the Northeast's largest producers of liquor and owned a large retail store on South George street. In 1896 George Washington Pfaltzgraff invited Brother Moul to become a Pfaltzgraff business partner shortly after the company had became officially known as the Pfaltzgraff Stoneware Company. Pfaltzgraff shifted to producing mostly stoneware jugs and ports to hold the liquor made by Brother Moul who was then half owner of the business. He was also the owner of the National Hotel in York on the corner of West Market and North Beaver streets - the hotel attached to the First Masonic Hall.

Brother Moul was the president of the Ruth Machine Company; a director of City Bank, the Steam Heating Company, and the Edison Company; and a stockholder in the York County Traction Company and the Monarch Silk Mill.

He was made a Mason on January 14, 1874 and was subsequently elected Worshipful Master in 1880. Brother Moul was active in the York Rite and served as both High Priest of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and as Eminent Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. Outside of Masonry he was a member of the local Elks lodge and he served as the president of the York City School Board for many years.

Brother Moul passed away from Bright's disease while traveling in Clifton Springs, New York on August 20, 1907. A special meeting of Lodge No. 451 was held on the morning of August 23rd for the purpose of holding a Masonic service at the Temple on North Beaver street before attending the funeral at Brother Moul's residence on South George street later that morning. His remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "Obituary." The York Daily. 24 Aug. 1907
Pfaltzgraff. Web.)




LEANDER H. MYERS
W.M. in 1872
Warrant Senior Deacon


Leander H. Myers was born in Adams County on May 10, 1840 to parents John and Eleanor (Hummer) Myers. By his tenth birthday in 1850 his family had moved to York County where he would complete his education. When the American Civil War began, he enlisted and served the Union Army with the 87th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry under commanding officer Brother Solomon Myers, his older brother. After the war he was admitted to the York Bar in August 1866 and began practicing law from his office at 3 South George street, which adjoined the Hartman Building. In 1868 he was on the Republican ticket running for District Attorney, but having lost, continued in private practice in York into the 1870s.

Brother Myers was initiated into York Lodge No. 266 on January 5, 1864 and a few years later would become one of the seven Masons to petition the Grand Lodge to form Zeredatha Lodge No. 451. He would be appointed Senior Deacon for 1869 and thereby become Zeredatha's Warrant Senior Deacon. He would move up through the chairs and in 1872 he was elected Worshipful Master. In addition to craft Masonry, he was active in the York Rite including membership in Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. His older brother Solomon Myers was also a member of Zeredatha Lodge and served as Treasurer from 1878 until his death in 1886. Outside of Masonry he was a member of The Irving Literary Association along with several other York Freemasons and warrant members of Zeredatha Lodge.

All records for Leander H. Myers abruptly stop in the mid-1870s. In the early part of the decade he would regularly advertise his legal services in the York newspapers and his presence at social gatherings and local clubs were reported in the social sections of the papers quite often. Rather precipitously he seems to disappear from all records, he does not even appear in the 1880 U.S. Census. Thanks to the work of some genealogists in western Pennsylvania we now know, in part, what happened to Brother Myers. Sometime between 1875 and 1880 he was institutionalized into Dixmont State Hospital in Allegheny County, which in that era was called the "Department of the Insane in the Western Pennsylvania Hospital of Pittsburgh." How he ended up in the institution is unknown and why he was in a hospital in the western part of the state instead of at the nearby Harrisburg State Hospital is also unclear. On May 15, 1884, Brother Myers passed away at Dixmont and his remains were interred in the Dixmont State Hospital Cemetery. All of the graves there are marked with a simple stone with just a number inscribed upon it. Genealogists in the Pittsburgh area were able to find one hundred year old Dixmont burial records and transcribe them and make the information public on the internet so that people could find long lost ancestors who suddenly disappeared from all recorded histories without any explanation. This documentation is how the author discovered the whereabouts and ultimate fate of Brother Leander H. Myers. The best estimation we can make is that he was institutionalized sometime in 1877 as he did not pay his dues for the year of 1878 and would later that year be suspended for non-payment. Dixmont State Hospital, which opened in 1862, closed in 1984 and the last of the existing buildings were torn down in 2006. Only the cemetery abides as a reminder of the state hospital where many thousands of individuals would spend out the remainder of their lives, oftentimes without their families and friends knowing whatever happened to them.

(Sources: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 376
"United States Census, 1850." Index.
"United States Census, 1860." Index.
"United States Census, 1870." Index.
Allegheny River Family Archives Genealogy. Web.)




DAVID S. NAGLE
W.M. in 1978

David S. Nagle was born in Maryland on October 30, 1939 to parents Rev. Robert S. and Rebecca (Phillippi) Nagle. By 1940, the family had moved to Dauphin County, Pennsylvania. Brother Nagle graduated from Gettysburg College where he was a member of the Kappa Delta Rho fraternity. Professionally, he worked for Merrill-Lynch Financial Services as an Account Executive.

Brother Nagle was made a Mason on December 22, 1965 in Lodge No. 451 and would later serve as Junior Warden in 1976, Senior Warden in 1977, and Worshipful Master in 1978. As a member of the York Rite he served as High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; as Thrice Illustrious Master of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; and as Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar, in 1975-76. He was also a member of the Philalethes Society, a Masonic research organization.

He passed away at his home in Millersville, Lancaster County, on April 14, 1999 and his remains were interred in Millersville Mennonite Church Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Social Security Death Index." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




HARRY P. NOSS
W.M. in 1910

Harry P. Noss was born in May of 1878 to parents Herman and Sarah J. Noss. During his time in the lumber industry he worked as a clerk and a merchant for his father's commercial wholesale lumber company, Herman Noss & Sons.

Brother Noss was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry on February 4, 1903. In addition to his service as Worshipful Master in 1910, he was also active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and as Eminent Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, in 1915-1916. He also served as the charter Grand Tall Cedar of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon, in 1913.

His older half-brother William S. Noss served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1891 and his older brother John W. Noss joined the lodge at the same time as Harry and received his degrees on the same dates.

Outside of Masonry, he was a member of Humane Lodge No. 342, Independent Order of Odd Fellows.

Brother Noss passed away on October 22, 1918 at only forty years old and his remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1910." Index.
"United States, World War One Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918." Index.)




WILLIAM S. NOSS
W.M. in 1891
Treasurer from 1898-1912


William S. Noss was born on November 16, 1859 to parents Herman and Jane Noss. After his education he joined in his father's business - Herman Noss & Sons - in the lumber and planing industry. He would work for this company for over sixty years. His half-brothers Harry P. Noss (W.M. in 1910) and John W. Noss (initiated in 1903) were also partners in the business and members of Lodge No. 451. In addition to his work in the lumber industry, Brother Noss served as president of the Standard Business and Loan Association of York, PA and he was the director of the Carlisle Avenue Market and Storage company.

Brother Noss was initiated into Freemasonry on November 1, 1886 and later elected Worshipful Master in 1891. He served Lodge No. 451 as Treasurer for many years as well. He was a charter member of Harrisburg Consistory and was very involved in the A.A.S.R.; he was a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; a member of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar; and a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg. Outside of Masonry he was a member of Humane Lodge No. 342, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Codorus Council No. 115, Junior Order United American Mechanics. He was also a member of both the Vigilant and Eagle Fire companies.

He passed away at his home on East Springettsbury avenue in York on September 23, 1937. His remains are interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "W.S. Noss, Lumber Merchant, Dies." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 24 Sep. 1937)



CHARLES E. PAULES
W.M. in 1946

Charles E. Paules was born in York on May 19, 1902 to parents Romanus T. and Emma (Leber) Paules. In the 1930s and 1940s he was a salesman at a retail hardware store in York. In 1955, he founded a new business with his three brothers, of which he served as president: Paules Hardware, Inc.. They sold hardware and home furnishings at 118 South George street in the City of York.

He was made a Mason on March 10, 1938 in Lodge No. 451 and was elected Worshipful Master of the same in 1946. He resigned from Lodge No. 451 in December 1981 having already moved to North Carolina. It is presumed that he affiliated with a lodge in his new home state. Outside of Masonry he was a member and committee member of the York Exchange Club during his years in York County. His younger brother, Clair L. Paules, was actually made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 before he was, having been initiated in 1932.

Brother Paules passed away in Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, North Carolina on October 29, 1987, and his remains cremated.

(Sources: "Hardware Firm Gets New Owner." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 31 Jan. 1955)
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
"North Carolina Deaths, 1931-1994," Charles Edgar Paules)




CLAUDE L. PETERMAN
W.M. in 1921

Claude L. Peterman was born on October 3, 1888 in York to parents Daniel S. and Alice M. (Groff) Peterman. He was educated in the local public schools, Mercerburg Academy, and was a 1910 graduate of the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. His father Daniel (also a member of Lodge No. 451, initiated in 1903) started D.S. Peterman & Co., a wholesale shoe merchant, located at 110 North George street. Claude would later join in the family business and after his father's death, take over as president. When traveling on North George street and passing the building, the old shoe store's painted sign can still be seen on both sides at the top of the brick building currently housing Rockfish Public House restaurant. In 1905, Daniel Peterman gave Mahlon Haines his start in the shoe business with a consignment to begin his own shoe store; Haines would have thirty shoe stores by 1922 and is now best known as the namesake of the Haines Acres neighborhood built on what was originally his land in East York, purchased in 1917. In addition to his work with the shoe business, Brother Peterman also served as the president and chairman of the board of First National Bank, later renamed the Commonwealth National Bank.

Brother Peterman was initiated into the mystery of Masonry on April 6, 1911. In addition to his service in his craft lodge, he was also active in the York Rite as a member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; York Shrine Club; and he served as Grand Tall Cedar of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon.

Outside of Freemasonry, he was a member of York Lodge No. 213, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; the Lafayette Club; the Country Club of York; the Pennsylvania Society of New York; and the Manufacturers and Bankers Club of Philadelphia.

Brother Peterman died on July 19, 1971 at his home on West Springettsbury avenue in York. His remains are interred in the community mausoleum at Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "C.L. Peterman, wholesaler, dead at 82." York Daily Record. 20 Jul. 1971
Godcharles, Frederic A. Biographical and Genealogical Sketches from Central Pennsylvania. Vol. IV: Personal and Family History, 1999.)




MATTHEW D. PORMAN
W.M. in 1899

Matthew D. Porman was born in York on February 22, 1865 to parents Matthew B. And Margaret A. Poorman – Brother Porman later dropped one 'o' from the family surname. By profession he was a carpenter and a church that he constructed in 1898 still stands at the corner of North West street and Linden avenue in the City of York, then called The Chapel of the Incarnation, now it serves as the building for Trinity Lutheran Church – commonly known as the 'Little Green Church'.

In addition to being initiated into Freemasonry on August 3, 1891, Brother Porman was active in the York Rite of Masonry having served as High Priest of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, in 1906. He was knighted in York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, and subsequently resigned to become the Warrant Treasurer of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75. He later served as Eminent Commander of Commandery No. 75 in 1904-1905. His son, W. Riter Porman, would later be initiated into Lodge No. 451 and serve as its Worshipful Master in 1928.

In 2017, his granddaughter, living in Connecticut at the time, contacted the lodge with the desire of donating some of her grandfather's Masonic memorabilia which she had held on to for many decades. She gifted the lodge his Past Master's apron and jewel which now reside in our lodge display case in the dining room at the Masonic Center.

Brother Porman passed away on July 26, 1932 and is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Source: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. I., 1907.)



W. RITER PORMAN
W.M. in 1928

William Riter Porman was born in York on July 12, 1890 to parents Matthew D. and Mary M. Porman. After his education he began work in his field as a draftsman. By the 1940s he had his own freelance business which he operated out of his home. In the 1940s he also served as a Spring Garden Township Commissioner.

Brother Porman was made a Mason on February 4, 1915 and later elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1928. In addition to the symbolic lodge, he was the High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, in 1927 and Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar, in 1929. His father, Matthew D. Porman, also served as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1899.

He passed away in York on May 22, 1960 and his remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1940." Index.
"United States, World War One Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918." Index.
"United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942." Index.)




JOSIAH F. ROSENMILLER
W.M. in 1869
Warrant Worshipful Master


Josiah F. Rosenmiller was born in York on August 18, 1827 and obtained his preliminary education in the public schools and prepared for college at the York County Academy. He completed a classical course of study at the College of New Jersey (now Princeton University), graduating with honors in 1848. He returned to York and was admitted to the Bar in 1850 and practiced law for several years including time studying under future judge Robert J. Fisher, a member of the former St. John's Lodge No. 123 before it went dark. He later owned and operated a hardware store with his brother Joseph on the north side of West Market street, near centre square, under the firm name of Rosenmiller & Co. and conducted a large and prosperous business for a period of forty years until 1894.

Brother Rosenmiller was made a Mason in York Lodge No. 266 on May 5, 1863 before resigning to become the Warrant Master of Lodge No. 451. He was also Masonically affiliated with Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. It was said that he was a gentleman of intellectual culture, possessing a vast fund of interesting and useful information.

He demitted from Lodge No. 451 on March 7, 1907 for an unknown reason and later passed away at his home at 41 West Market street on February 4, 1908. His remains are interred in the Rosenmiller Family mausoleum at Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: "Obituary." The York Daily. 5 Feb. 1909
Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 30.
Kain, George H., and Franklin M. Beecher. History of York Lodge No. 266, Free and Accepted Masons. 1932.)




JOHN S. ROYER
W.M. in 1938

John S. Royer was born on August 6, 1890 in Galveston County, Texas. As a young man he came north to York County, Pennsylvania and had a long career as a machinist for the former York Ice Machinery Corporation - it would later become York International and was then bought out by the present Johnson Controls.

Brother Royer had an impressive Masonic resume. He was made a Mason on April 8, 1920. In addition to serving as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1938, he also served as the High Priest (1948) of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, and later Treasurer; in 1951 he was the Thrice Illustrious Master of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; he was the Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar, in 1951-1952. He also served as the Puissant Sovereign of the York Conclave, Red Cross of Constantine, in 1960; in 1971 he was the Sovereign Master of Rex Council No. 47, Allied Masonic Degrees; and he earned membership in the Knights of the York Cross of Honour. In 1965 he served as the Most Puissant Grand Master (M.P.G.M.) of the Grand Council of Royal and Select Master Masons of Pennsylvania. He was also a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon. His impressive Masonic jewel collection sits atop the display cabinets in the dining room at the Masonic Center.

He passed away in York on April 18, 1976 and his remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1940." Index.
"United States, World War One Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918." Index.)




EDWARD L. SCHROEDER
W.M. in 1893

Edward L. Schroeder was born on June 26, 1836 in York to parents Emanuel and Mary (Laucks) Schroeder. He learned the trade of cabinet making and he resided in York Borough where he practiced his craft. He later invested in real estate and owned rental properties of which he was the landlord.

During the American Civil War, he first served at the rank of private with Company A, 16th Pennsylvania Infantry from April 20 - July 30, 1861. He then enlisted with Company A, 5th Maryland Infantry, and was quickly promoted to the rank of sergeant-major and later to 2nd lieutenant on March 16, 1862. On December 8, 1862 he was promoted to 1st lieutenant of Company H. On June 15, 1863 he was taken prisoner during the Battle of Carter's Woods in Winchester, Virginia. He was sent to a series of prisons in Richmond and Danville, Virginia; Macon, Georgia; and finally, Columbia, South Carolina. He was paroled at Charleston, South Carolina on December 10, 1864 and honorably discharged from service on January 28, 1865. After the war he returned to York and in 1884 served a term as post commander of Sedgwick Post #37, Grand Army of the Republic - a fraternal organization composed of veterans of the Union Army, Navy, and Marines during the American Civil War.

He was initiated into craft Masonry on November 21, 1870 and served as Worshipful Master of Zeredatha Lodge in 1893. He was active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and he served as Eminent Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar.

Brother Schroeder passed away on September 30, 1915 in Washington, D.C. and he is interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1860." Index.
"United States Census, 1900." Index.)




JAMES L. SCHROEDER
W.M. in 1969

James L. Schroeder was born October 13, 1921 in York, a son of J. Louis and Verna Grace (Zarfoss) Schroeder. He was employed with Harsco Corporation for over fifteen years, until his retirement in 1986 as Vice President of Engineering. He was also a registered Professional Engineer in Pennsylvania, a registered Manufacturing Engineer, and a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He was also a veteran of the United States Navy.

Brother Schroeder was made a Mason on October 19, 1955 and he was also a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason in the Valley of Harrisburg and a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg. He was the President of the Board of Directors when the Masonic Center of York (the Third Temple) was constructed and was largely responsible for the positive outcome of that project. His son James L. Schroeder, III was initiated into Zeredatha Lodge in 1965 before transferring to Brownstone Lodge No. 666 (Hershey) in 1987 and his son George K. Schroeder joined Lodge No. 451 in 1968. His brother Richard B. Schroeder was Worshipful Master in 1970 and his nephew Richard B. Schroeder II, was Worshipful Master in 2000 and 2004.

He passed away on October 20, 2006 at the Nursing and Rehabilitation Center at Sprenkle Drive in York. Masonic services were held on the morning of the religious services in the parlor of St. Matthew's Lutheran Church, York. He is interred at Mount Rose Cemetery.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 22 Oct. 2006)



RICHARD B. SCHROEDER
W.M. in 1970

Richard B. Schroeder was born in York on February 18, 1924 to parents James L. Schroeder, Sr. and Verna (Zarfoss) Schroeder. He was a graduate of William Penn Senior High School and York Junior College and served his country in the U.S. Navy during World War II. He retired from A.B. Murray Co. in Bristol, Bucks County, after over twenty-six years of employment as a sales representative. He later worked at Country Meadows of York retirement home.

Brother Schroeder was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry on November 18, 1953 and would subsequently be elected Worshipful Master of Zeredatha Lodge in 1970 following his older brother James L. Schroeder who served as Master in 1969. His son, Richard B. Schroeder II, is also a member of Zeredatha Lodge and served as Worshipful Master in 2000 and 2004.

In addition to craft Masonry, he was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; a member of White Rose Scottish Rite Club; York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; and Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg. Outside of Masonry, he was a member of the Hawk Gunning Club; the Victory Athletic Association; and the American Legion, Red Lion Post 543.

He passed away at his home on February 6, 1992 after a brief illness and is interred in Susquehanna Memorial Gardens, York.

(Source: "Obituary." York Sunday News. 9 Feb. 1992)



JACOB K. SEACRIST
W.M. in 1907

Jacob K. Seacrist was born in York on December 2, 1859 to parents Jacob and Mary E. (Kibler) Seacrist. After his education in the public schools of York, he began to learn the trade of carpentry at the age of sixteen. After time as an apprentice and journeyman, he founded Adam W. & Jacob Seacrist Contractors and Builders with his older brother. They would later add a planing mill to their business model that would prove to be very successful as well. Brother Seacrist also served as the chief of the fire department, having worked his way up through the ranks from age seventeen.

He was made a Mason on April 8, 1903 and later elected Worshipful Master in 1907. He was also active in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; and Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. He was also a member of the Zembo Shrine in Harrisburg.

Outside of the craft, he was a member of York Lodge No. 213, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; the Improved Order of Heptasophs; the Keystone Fire Association; the York Guardian Trust Company; and the York City Market Company.

Brother Seacrist died at his residence on South Duke street on October 31, 1936. His remains are interred in the community mausoleum at Prospect Hill Cemetery, York.

(Source: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 620-621)



NEVIN L. SENFT
W.M. in 1980
Treasurer from 1985-1999


Nevin L. Senft was born on July 12, 1929 in North Codorus Township, York County. He was the son of Paul P. and Nora (Strausbaugh) Senft. He graduated in 1947 from West York High School and he was employed by P.H. Glatfelter Co. in Spring Grove for a period of over thirty years before his retirement in 1993.

Brother Senft was a very active Mason and after his initiation on October 21, 1970 and his term as Worshipful Master in 1980, he served as the Treasurer of Lodge No. 451 from 1985 to 1999. He was also affiliated with York Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons (previously he was a member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, before the merger); York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; York-Gethsemane Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar (previously he was a member of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, before the merger); 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; Past President of White Rose Scottish Rite Club; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; York County Shrine Club; First Capital No. 156, York Rite Sovereign College; York Conclave, Red Cross of Constantine; Royal Order of Scotland; First Capital High Twelve Club No. 668; Square Club of York No. 1052; Grand College of Rites of the U.S.A.; as well as several Masonic stamp collecting clubs.

He passed away on August 27, 1999. Masonic services were held at the Sauter-Irwin Funeral Home in Spring Grove and burial was in St. Paul's Union Cemetery in Stewartstown, York County.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 30 Aug. 1999)



WILLIAM H. SHEFFER
W.M. in 1908

William H. Sheffer was born on August 29, 1866 to parents Solomon and Elizabeth (Bull) Sheffer. He worked in a variety of fields including as a farm hand, a street car operator, and a retail merchant.

Brother Sheffer was made a Mason on May 7, 1902. He was elected Junior Warden in 1906, Senior Warden in 1907, and Worshipful Master in 1908. He was also active in the York Rite of Masonry as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and a member of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. He was also a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg. Outside of Masonry he was a member of York Lodge No. 213, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Harmonia Lodge No. 853, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; the Royal Fire Company; the Firemen's Relief Association; and the Manufacturer's Association of York.

He passed away at his home on West Market street in York on January 3, 1918 and a Masonic service was held there before his interment in Greenmount Cemetery with Past Masters of Zeredatha acting as pallbearers.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily. 7 Jan. 1918)



JOHN W. SHETTER
W.M. in 1883
Secretary from 1877-1880


John W. Shetter was born on January 2, 1853 to parents Reuben and Eliza Shetter. He was involved in several business ventures before co-founding the Shetter-Myers Company, a prominent real estate and insurance company in York. He was made a Mason on May 8, 1876 and he would subsequently serve as Secretary of Zeredatha Lodge from 1877 to 1880 before being elected Worshipful Master in 1883. He was suspended from Lodge No. 451 on May 5, 1910 for non-payment of dues. In 1911, he pleaded guilty to indictments of misappropriating funds and embezzlement of money collected by him for the Allegheny Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, Keystone Underwriters of Pittsburgh, and Employers' Liability of London. He was sentenced to the Eastern Penitentiary for a term not exceeding five years. Later in life he found work as a merchant. He passed away at the York County Home on August 30, 1941 where he had resided since June that year and his remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: The Weekly Underwriter. Jan. 21 1911, pp. 61
"United States Census, 1880." Index.)




WARREN L. SIEKER
W.M. in 1939
Secretary from 1951-1971


Warren L. Sieker was born in York on February 6, 1903 to parents Charles H. and Mary (Beck) Sieker. After his education he began employment in retail sales before becoming the personnel manager at various York manufacturing plants including the Blaw-Knox Co. and the Owen Yacht Company. By 1954 he was the director of the York City Rental Bureau and director of the York County Blind Center.

Brother Sieker was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on June 10, 1930 and was later elected Worshipful Master in 1939. He would also serve Zeredatha as the Secretary from 1951 to 1971. In addition to craft Masonry, Brother Sieker was a member of the Valley of Harrisburg, A.A.S.R., receiving the Honorary 33° in 1947; he was a member of the Red Lion Scottish Rite Club; a member of Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; past President (1938) and Secretary for twenty-five years of the York County Shrine Club; member of the Lancaster County Shrine Club; member of the Shrine Club Past Presidents' Association of Zembo Temple; past President of Square Club No. 1052, York; and member of the Royal Order of Scotland. His father, Charles H. Sieker, was a member of Lodge No. 451 (initiated in 1907) as was his older brother, William E. Sieker (initiated in 1920).

Outside of Masonry, he was a member of Vigilant Fire Co. and he served as district assistant supervisor for the 1950 U.S. Census.

Brother Sieker passed away on June 30, 1974 at his home on West Market street and his remains were interred in Greenmount Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 1 Jul. 1974
"United States Census, 1910." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




RALPH C. SMITH
W.M. in 1961
Treasurer from 1963-1969


Ralph C. Smith was born on September 1, 1924 in Huffman, Harris County, Texas to parents Guy and Willie (Scott) Smith. After graduating from Crosby High School in Crosby, Texas he attended Oklahoma A.&M., the University of Houston, and the Institute of Gas Technology. He subsequently was employed as the Marketing Manager for Columbia Gas of Pennsylvania, retiring after thirty-one years of service. During World War II, he was a pilot in the U.S. Army Air Corps, flying P-40's and P-47's. Following the war, he continued to serve in the U.S.A.F. Reserves.

Brother Smith has an illustrious Masonic resume. He was initiated into the mystery of Freemasonry on June 22, 1953. In addition to serving as Worshipful Master in 1961, he also served as the Treasurer of Lodge No. 451 from 1963 to 1969. He was active in the 42nd Masonic District by serving as the President of the School of Instruction for thirty years and as the District Culture Chairman from 1973 to 1982. He was active in the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite as a member of the Degree Teams for the 19°, 21°, and 26° at the Valley of Harrisburg and he served as the Sovereign Prince of the Harrisburg Council, Princes of Jerusalem, 16°, from 1990-1991; he was a past President and charter member of White Rose Scottish Rite Club; and he received the Honorary 33° in Chicago, Illinois in 1992.

Additionally, he was a member of York Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; York-Gethsemane Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar; York Conclave, Red Cross of Constantine; Past Grand Tall Cedar of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; York County Shrine Club; charter member and past President of First Capital High Twelve Club No. 668; and a member of Harrisburg Chapter No. 76, National Sojourners.

Outside of Masonry he was a past president of York Downtown Lions Club; past president of Susquehanna Chapter, American Institute of Plant Engineers; board member of the Sales and Marketing Executives Association of York; member of the Advisory Board of the York Salvation Army from 1989 to 2005; and he was a volunteer patient transportation driver for the York County Cancer Society from 1987 to 2005.

He passed away on September 6, 2005 at his residence in York. Masonic services were conducted following a viewing at the Workinger-Semmel Funeral Home and his remains are interred in Mount Rose Cemetery, York.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 8 Sep. 2005)



ALBERT SMYSER
W.M. in 1876

Albert Smyser was born on April 30, 1830 in York to parents Michael and Elizabeth (Lanius) Smyser. After his education Brother Smyser was engaged in several businesses. One of his successful businesses was with his partner Brother Charles A. Klinefelter (W.M. in 1882); they manufactured sashes, doors, window frames, and sold lumber and other building materials. He also served as the president of the board of directors of Western National Bank of York.

Brother Smyser was made a Mason on April 11, 1870 - his petition was presented, read, voted on, and he was initiated all in the same night. The signers of his petition were Treasurer Charles A. Klinefelter, and Secretary John W. Buckingham. He was also active in the York Rite bodies including Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; and York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar.

He passed away at his home on West Market street on January 7, 1911. Masonic services were held at his home and his remains were interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "Obituary." The York Daily. 11 Jan. 1911
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




JOHN B. SPRENKEL
W.M. in 1887 & 1888
Chaplain from 1889-1892


John B. Sprenkel was born in 1851 in York County to parents Peter B. and Catharine (Myers) Sprenkel. After his education, he established a retail dry goods store. He ran this successful business at 108 West Market street in the City of York until he retired from the business in 1903. In addition to his retail business, he also served as vice president of the First National Bank in York.

Brother Sprenkel was made a Mason on November 5, 1883. His years as Worshipful Master were unusual in that he served back-to-back terms, a rarity shared with his successor John L. Kable, and not again encountered in Lodge No. 451 until the year 2012. This was due to a change from Grand Lodge that required a brother must serve as Master for two full years in order to be considered a member of Grand Lodge after his time in the east. This change was only in effect from 1887-1889; before and after that time period, only one full year in the east was/is the requirement.

In addition to craft Masonry, Brother Sprenkel was involved in the York Rite bodies and served as High Priest of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, in 1891. He later served as District Deputy Grand High Priest in the early 1910s for the 3rd District which encompassed York, Adams, Berks, Lancaster, and Lebanon counties. He was also the Eminent Commander of York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, in 1890-1891 and a leader in organizing two of the State Conclaves of the Knights Templar of Pennsylvania in York. His father, Peter B. Sprenkel, was also a member of Lodge No. 451 and was initiated in 1876.

Brother Sprenkel passed away at his residence - the same location as his former business - on December 21, 1918. His remains are interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Source: "Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 23 Dec. 1918)



W.F. BAY STEWART
W.M. in 1881

William Finney Bay Stewart was born in Chanceford Township, York County, on February 25, 1849, son of Thomas R. and Sarah Jane (Bay) Stewart. He attended the public schools until seventeen years of age and later was a student of Pleasant Grove Academy in Lower Chanceford Township and afterward in the historic York County Academy. He received an honorary Master's degree from Ursinus College in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania.

After his education he taught in the public schools for two years and then in the York County Academy. After leaving teaching he entered upon the study of law with Levi H. Maish (W.M. in 1873); he was admitted to the Bar in 1873, and two years later he formed a partnership with Brother John Blackford (W.M. in 1879); he was then elected District Attorney of the county of York. His law partnership continued with Brother Blackford until the latter's death in 1884. In 1885 he was elected to the Bench and served ten years as a judge of the courts of York County.

Beyond his practice of law and fulfillment of elected office, Brother Stewart was prominently connected with several mammoth enterprises. He had always taken a deep interest in economics and finance and at the time he was elected judge he was president of the Security Title & Trust Company, which he assisted in organizing, and which became one of the leading financial institutions of the city. From 1883 to 1894, he had been engaged in the foundry, machine, and tanning business as a partner of the firm of Baugher, Kurtz & Stewart. Under his tutelage it became one of the largest and most successful industries of the city, employing large numbers of men. Brother Stewart also stepped in as president of the York Card & Paper Company, a manufacturer of wallpaper, and made it one of the largest plants of its kind in the world. Following his tenure, the company was purchased by York Wall Paper Company, which later changed its name to York Wallcoverings and operates to this day.

In addition to industrial concerns, he was instrumental in establishing, in 1889, the York Knitting Mills Company of which he was president. In 1900 he established, organized, and served as president of the Norway Iron & Steel Company. He was one of the two organizers of the York Haven Water & Power Company, serving as its vice president. He was also involved in the York Haven Paper Company and the York County Traction Company. He was instrumental in the consolidation of the two major electric light companies, the steam heating company, and a dozen or more electric railway companies, all of which he served as a director.

Outside the borders of York County, Brother Stewart was one of the chief organizers and president of the Valdez-Yukon Railroad Company, which had the purpose of building a railroad from Valdez, Alaska through the Copper River country to the Yukon River, a distance of 412 miles.

It certainly would require a large volume to tell of all the industrial and financial concerns in which he was involved. The mind that can conceive and execute so many great and varied enterprises is beyond the conception of the average man. Furthermore, it is impressive that the holder of this exalted station could show such unblemished honor and untarnished reputation.

He was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on April 9, 1877 and later was elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1881. Brother Stewart passed away on September 11, 1932 and was interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery in York.

(Sources: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 8.
Motter, H. L. Who's Who in the World. New York City: 1912. pp. 989.)




WILMER H. STILES
W.M. in 1937

Wilmer H. Stiles was born on November 18, 1896 in Springfield Township, York County, to Hezekiah N. and Rebecca (Hildebrand) Stiles. He was a teacher at Phineas Davis Junior High School before becoming the assistant principal in the 1930s (under principal James M. Ebbert - W.M. in 1919). He would later be promoted to principal of the school in the 1950s, a position he would hold until his retirement. Brother Stiles also served his country in the U.S. Navy during World War I.

Brother Stiles was made a Mason on May 5, 1927 in Lodge No. 451. He was subsequently elected Worshipful Master in 1937. He was also active in the York Rite, serving as High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, in 1946.

He passed away on February 24, 1994 in York and is interred in Mount Rose Cemetery.

(Source: "United States Census, 1900." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




KENNETH L. STUMP
W.M. in 1964

Kenneth L. Stump was born on October 12, 1910 in York to parents Edward W. and Phebe (Feiser) Stump. He retired from the United States Postal Service in 1970, having spent his entire career as a letter carrier.

Brother Stump was made a Mason on May 19, 1954 and was subsequently elected Junior Warden of Lodge No. 451 in 1962, Senior Warden in 1963, and Worshipful Master in 1964. In addition to craft Masonry, he was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; and a member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon. He was also a member of the National Association of Letter Carriers and the National Association of Retired Federal Employees.

He passed away on February 26, 1999 at ManorCare South. Masonic services were conducted at the Heffner Funeral Chapel & Crematory the evening of the viewing and his remains are interred in Greenmount Cemetery in York.

(Sources: "Obituary." York Sunday News. 28 Feb. 1999
"United States Social Security Death Index." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.)




G. EDWARD SWARTZ
W.M. in 1955

George Edward Swartz was born on March 8, 1912 in York County to parents George A. and Mary E. Swartz. As a young man he was an active member of the Order of DeMolay, having received the Legion of Honor from that body. At the age of eighteen he was employed as a cabinet manufacturer before securing a position in the field of his choice: engineering. By 1940 he was a civil engineer for Sauer Construction and he was a charter member of the American Society of Highway Engineers in 1958 and later served as president of that professional organization from May 1960 to May 1961.

Brother Swartz was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on February 6, 1947 and elected Junior Warden in 1953, Senior Warden in 1954, and Worshipful Master in 1955. In addition to the craft lodge, he was a member of the York DeMolay Alumni Association, of which he served as an officer.

He passed away on February 10, 1989 in York and is interred in Greenmount Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "United States Social Security Death Index." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




T. DALE TAYLOR
W.M. in 1947
D.D.G.M of 42nd District from 1953-1963


Thomas Dale Taylor was born on July 21, 1906 in York to parents Thomas R. and Adda B. (Sinclair) Taylor. After his education, Brother Taylor began work as an upholsterer in his father's business, T.R. Taylor & Co. Furniture Makers. This business, headquartered at 401 South Sherman street - now the site of Guildcraft furniture - operated from 1917 through the 1980s. Brother Taylor worked his way up through the ranks to eventually become one of the chief operating officers of the business.

He was made a Mason on January 10, 1929 and was subsequently elected Worshipful Master in 1947. He would later serve the 42nd Masonic District of Pennsylvania as the District Deputy Grand Master from 1953 to 1963; he would be the fourth brother to serve in that role since the district's creation and the first from Zeredatha Lodge. His father, Thomas R. Taylor and his brother John Ramsay Taylor were members of Lodge No. 451 before him and the signers of his petition for initiation and membership.

In addition to craft Masonry, in 1954 he served as Grand Tall Cedar of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon, and as Potentate of Zembo Shrine in 1963.

Brother Taylor passed away in York on June 27, 1967 and his remains interred in Mount Rose Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.)




DEAN P. TENNIS
W.M. in 1940

Dean P. Tennis was born in York on August 1, 1904 to Clinton E. and Mary E. Tennis. After his education he became employed by York Safe & Lock as a clerk. By 1940 he was the shipping manager for George F. Motter & Sons, which manufactured boilers, radiators, and various types of other machinery. While at Motter & Sons, he also served as the chairman of the Safety Committee for the plant.

Brother Tennis was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on February 6, 1930 and would later be elected Worshipful Master in 1940. He was also active in the York Rite of Masonry serving as High Priest of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, in 1947; he served as Thrice Illustrious Master of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; he was a member of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar, and completed the last six months of George W. Wheatley's (W.M. in 1941) term as Eminent Commander after he had died while holding that office.

Outside of Masonry, he was the secretary and later vice president of the Hudson Street Recreation Center in York which oversaw Hudson Park. He served as the president of the Ridge Avenue Elementary School PTA. And he joined the Foreman's Club of York, a professional organization, in 1945.

He passed away in York on August 12, 1963 and his remains were interred in Greenmount Cemetery.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




A. HAROLD THATCHER
W.M. in 1956

Abner Harold Thatcher was born on October 2, 1909 in Littlestown, Adams County, to York natives Abner W. and Lottie Ann (Senft) Thatcher. When his mother passed away in 1916, his father moved the family east to Philadelphia until about 1930 when they moved north to Monroe County, New York. In the mid-1930s he got married and moved to York County where he became employed by H.J. William Construction Company as an engineer and by the 1950s he was the vice president of engineering at West York Construction Company.

Brother Thatcher was made a Mason in Zeredatha Lodge on January 8, 1948 and progressed through the chairs before being elected Worshipful Master for the 1956 Masonic year. His father Abner W. Thatcher was also a Freemason, a member of Welcome Lodge No. 453 in Philadelphia.

Outside of Masonry he was active in the Rotary Club and he served as the chairman of the York County Chapter of the National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis, later known as the March of Dimes; his son was stricken with polio in the 1930s. He also served numerous terms on the York City School Board in the 1950s and 1960s.

Brother Thatcher passed away on June 4, 1992 and his remains interred in Mount Rose Cemetery, York.

(Sources: "United States Census, 1910." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




JOHN A. VOSS
W.M. in 1913

John A. Voss was born in 1871 in York County, Pennsylvania to Augustus and Louisa Voss. After his education and service in the United States military during the Spanish-American War, he returned to York to engage in the plumbing industry for the next forty-five years. In addition to being a licensed Master Plumber, Brother Voss owned and operated a plumbing parts and supply business out of his home at the corner of South Queen street and East Charles lane, which has since been razed.

He was initiated on May 3, 1905 and in addition to serving as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1913, he was also a Past High Priest (1919) of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; member of York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; Eminent Past Commander (1924-25) of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; York County Shrine Club; and the Temple Club of York. His son, Carl A. Voss, was initiated into Lodge No. 451 in 1919. Outside of Masonry, he was a member of Harmonia Lodge No. 853, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; the White Rose Motor Club; and the National Association of Master Plumbers.

Brother Voss passed away on November 22, 1940 at his home in York City. Interment was made in Fairview Cemetery in Wrightsville, York County.

(Sources: "Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 23 Nov. 1940
"United States Census, 1940." Index.
The Plumbers Trade Journal Vol. 62 (1917) Print.)




RICHARD WATT
W.M. in 1877
Secretary from 1872-1874


Richard Watt was born on September 7, 1843 in Dundee, Scotland. After spending six years as an apprentice in the painting and decorative trade and as a student in art school, he came to this country in the spring of 1865. Upon arrival in York, he apprenticed with a photography gallery until December 1865 when he opened a paint shop with his brother under the firm name Richard Watt and Brother. They specialized in sign work and in decorating churches and public buildings as well as the interiors of homes.

He was made a Mason on January 10, 1870 and was the first candidate initiated in Lodge No. 451 - in fact, he was balloted on and initiated on the same night. He was elected Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1877. In addition to craft Masonry, he was a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; and York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar. Brother Watt passed away on October 13, 1891 and was buried in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "Richard Watt is Dead." The York Daily. 14 Oct. 1891
Peckham, Becky. The Story of a Dynamic Community, York, Pennsylvania. 1946. pp. 207.)




WILLIAM F. WEISER
W.M. in 1894

William F. Weiser was born on October 2, 1865 in York County to Franklin S. and Barbara (Stahle) Weiser. After his education in the public schools of York and his graduation from the York Collegiate Institute in 1884, he attended Lafayette College and graduated in 1887. In 1889 he entered the banking firm of Smyser, Bott & Company where he remained two years after which he became the teller of Drovers' and Mechanics' National Bank from 1891 to 1903. In 1903 he was promoted to cashier, a position which he held until his untimely death at the age of fifty.

Brother Weiser was made a Mason on March 5, 1888. In addition to serving as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1894, he was Masonically affiliated with Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar; and Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg. His older brother Harry K. Weiser was a member of Zeredatha Lodge and served as its Secretary from 1908 to 1934. Outside of Masonry, he was an active member of the York County Historical Society and served as its secretary in the 1890s.

Brother Weiser passed away on March 21, 1915 and was interred in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Source: Prowell, George R. History of York County, Pennsylvania. Vol. II., 1907. pp. 505.
"United States Census, 1880." Index.)




GEORGE W. WHEATLEY
W.M. in 1941

George W. Wheatley was born in 1879 in Dorchester County, Maryland to Sidney L. and Amanda Wheatley. He was an insurance agent for the Industrial Life Insurance Company.

Masonically, he was initiated into Lodge No. 451 on September 4, 1930. He was a member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons; he was, at the time of his death, serving as the Eminent Commander of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar (his term was finished by Brother Dean P. Tennis - W.M. in 1940); and he was a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg. Outside of Masonry he was a member of the Knights of Pythias.

He passed away on November 25, 1947 at his home in the Hillcroft neighborhood in York.

(Sources: "Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 26 Nov. 1947
"United States Census, 1880." Index.)




ROBERT T. WHITEHOUSE
W.M. in 1923

Robert T. Whitehouse was born on June 20, 1872 in Springfield, Hampden County, Massachusetts to Thomas H. and Dora (Warren) Whitehouse. He spent most of his early years in the State of Massachusetts raised by immigrant parents who came to the United States from the West Midlands region of England before he moved south into York County, Pennsylvania with his wife. By profession he was a draftsman and he was with Quality Engineering and Tool Company in York as a drafting engineer from their founding in 1947 until his death.

Brother Whitehouse was made a Mason on January 9, 1913. In addition to serving as Worshipful Master of Lodge No. 451 in 1923, he was also a Past High Priest (1922) and warrant member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons, and an Eminent Past Commander (1927-28) of Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar. He also spent more than a decade serving as an Advisor for the York Chapter of the Order of DeMolay.

He passed away from a heart attack brought on by mowing his lawn at his home near Farquhar Park in the City of York on May 22, 1954. His remains were interred in Green Hill Cemetery in Waynesboro, Franklin County, Pennsylvania.

(Sources: "Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 24 May 1954
"United States Census, 1940." Index.)




ROBERT H. WHITMER, JR.
W.M. in 1983

Robert H. Whitmer, Jr. was born to Robert H. and Leetha (Petit) Whitmer on July 2, 1930 in Canton, Start County, Ohio. His family moved to York in 1939 and in 1948 he graduated from North York High School. He went to work for Kershner Welding Supply in 1954 and purchased the same in 1974 renaming it York Welding Supply and, in total, he spent 54 years in the welding industry.

He was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on April 18, 1973 and was elected Worshipful Master in 1983. In addition to craft Masonry, he was a member of York Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons; York Council No. 21, Royal and Select Master Masons; York-Gethsemane Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar; 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; a member of the White Rose Scottish Rite Club; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; York County Shrine Club; he served as Grand Tall Cedar of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon, and later served as District Deputy Grand Tall Cedar. He was also an Advisor for Continental Chapter, Order of DeMolay.

Brother Whitmer served in the U.S. Navy Construction Battalion during the Korean War and was stationed in Guam and Alaska. Later in life he served as a board member of the Margaret E. Moul Home in York - a home for individuals with neuromuscular disorders.

He passed away on March 2, 2013 at York Hospital. Masonic services were conducted at Workinger-Semmel Funeral Home following the viewing.

(Source: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 5 Mar. 2013)



PERE L. WICKES
W.M. in 1878

Peregrine 'Pere' L. Wickes was born on August 13, 1837 in Chestertown, Kent County, Maryland to Joseph Wickes IV and Elizabeth (Chambers) Wickes. He studied at Washington College in Chestertown and later attended Princeton University, earning both his Bachelor of Laws and Master of Arts degrees from that institution.

Brother Wickes was admitted to the state bar in 1859 and shortly thereafter established a law practice in Chestertown. In 1866 he and his wife removed to her home county of York, Pennsylvania. Here he began a new law practice and served as an attorney for the Northern Central and Pennsylvania Railroad.

In 1875 he was elected as a judge for Pennsylvania's 19th judicial district. In 1882 he received the appointment as president judge of the 19th, holding his seat until his resignation in 1886 when he moved to Baltimore with his family and soon recommenced with the practice of law.

In 1890 he was appointed to fill a vacancy on the Supreme Bench of Baltimore City and in the following year he was elected to a term of his own. He would serve on the court until his retirement in 1907.

Brother Wickes was made a Mason in Zeredatha Lodge on May 8, 1871. He was involved in the York Rite as a member of Howell Chapter No. 199, Royal Arch Masons, and he was knighted in York Commandery No. 21, Knights Templar, in 1871. He demitted from Lodge No. 451 on May 3, 1886 having moved to Maryland and it is assumed that he affiliated with a lodge in his new city of residence.

He passed away on October 27, 1923 at his Baltimore home. Funeral services were held at his residence and his remains interred in Green Mount Cemetery in Baltimore.

(Source: "Obituary." Chestertown Transcript. 3 Nov. 1923)



HARRY S. WIKEL
W.M. in 1930

Harry S. Wikel was born in Pennsylvania on March 8, 1882. After his education he started a business as a foot correctionist out of his home at 708 West Market street in York.

Brother Wikel was made a Mason in Lodge No. 451 on December 9, 1910. He was later elected Junior Warden in 1928, Senior Warden in 1929, and Worshipful Master in 1930. He was one of the eight vocalists who sang at special events in the Zeredatha Lodge Octet in the 1930s. Outside of Freemasonry, he was a member of Humane Lodge No. 342, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in York.

He passed away in York on February 21, 1941. Officers of the lodge conducted graveside services in Mount Rose Cemetery.

(Source: "Obituary." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 22 Feb. 1941)



LLOYD A. WILLSON
W.M. in 1957

Lloyd A. Willson was born on April 7, 1896 in Linesville, Crawford County, Pennsylvania to Homer and Carrie (Morrow) Willson. Early in his career he was a telegraph operator for a number of businesses including Conway Yard (P.R.R.) in Beaver County, Pennsylvania; for the Associated Press in Wood County, West Virginia; and for a stockbroker's office called E.W. Clark & Co. at 22 South George street in York. By 1940 he had been promoted to customer's man (representative to clients) at E.W. Clark and by 1945 he was a stockbroker at Janney, Montgomery, Scott, Inc. in York, from which he would retire. He resided at 2802 North George street, right down the street from the Masonic Center, for the last couple decades of his life.

In addition to Lodge No. 451, Brother Willson was active in the York Rite of Masonry, including Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar, of which he was the long time Treasurer. He was also a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; member of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; both York County and Adams County Shrine Clubs; and Square Club No. 1052, York.

Outside of Freemasonry he was a Past Exalted Ruler of York Lodge No. 213, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; member of Susquehanna Lions Club, Manchester; life member of the York County Agricultural Society; and member of Slumbering Groundhog Lodge (Gschlummer Grundsau Lodsch) in Kirkwood, Lancaster County, a Pennsylvania Dutch fraternal organization.

Brother Willson passed away at York Hospital on April 22, 1977. A Masonic funeral service was held on the evening of the viewing at Etzweiler Funeral Home on East Market street. His remains are interred in Mount Rose Cemetery.

(Sources: "Obituary." York Daily Record. 25 Apr. 1977
"United States, World War One Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918." Index.
"United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942." Index.
"United States Census, 1920." Index.
"United States Census, 1930." Index.)




PAUL R. WINTER
W.M. in 1958

Paul R. Winter was born on April 30, 1920 in York to parents George W. and Martha (Hahn) Winter. In 1947 he founded Paul R. Winter Electrical Contractors, which was later renamed Winter Engine Generator Services, Inc. and was located on West Poplar street in the City of York.

Brother Winter was initiated into Freemasonry on April 21, 1948 and would subsequently serve Zeredatha Lodge as Worshipful Master in 1958. He was also a 32° A.A.S.R. Mason, Valley of Harrisburg; a member of the White Rose Scottish Rite Club; York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; and the York County Shrine Club. His son Paul R. Winter, Jr. is a member of Zeredatha Lodge (initiated in 1973), as is his son Ralph E. Winter (W.M. in 1995).

He passed away on September 8, 1993 and his remains were interred in Greenmount Cemetery, York.

(Source: "Obituary." The York Dispatch. 9 Sep. 1993)



ELI Z. ZINN
W.M. in 1912

Eli Z. Zinn was born in York on March 24, 1871 to parents Eli and Sarah (Ziegler) Zinn. After his education he began his career as a plasterer, but by 1901 he was engaged in the coal industry in which he would remain for the remainder of his professional career. He was a founding partner of a retail coal business called Zinn & Senft. A few years later, Senft left the business and he partnered with his brothers, changing the name of the business to Zinn & Bros., and later to the Eli Z. Zinn Corporation. He also served as a director of the Pennsylvania Retail Coal Merchants' Association from 1905 into the 1920s.

Brother Zinn was initiated into Lodge No. 451 on August 3, 1904. Additionally, he was a member of Yorktown Chapter No. 304, Royal Arch Masons (although he was first a member of Howell Chapter No. 199); Gethsemane Commandery No. 75, Knights Templar; Zembo Shrine, Harrisburg; and a member and Trustee of York Forest No. 30, Tall Cedars of Lebanon. His younger brother Martin L. Zinn was also a member of Lodge No. 451 (initiated in 1908), as were his sons Frederick Russell Zinn (initiated in 1919) and Chester A. Zinn (initiated in 1924). Outside of Freemasonry, he was a member of the York Kiwanis Club; Royal Fire Company No. 6; and York Lodge No. 213, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.

He passed away at his home on West Market street in the City of York on June 25, 1955 and interment was made in the community mausoleum in Prospect Hill Cemetery.

(Sources: "Eli Zinn, Quarryman, Succumbs At Home." The Gazette and Daily [York]. 27 Jun. 1955
"United States Census, 1900." Index.
Hull, Arthur M. Coal Men of America. 1918. pp. 402. Print.)